SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Water Wars
By

Rating
Product Details

Reviews

This fast-paced dystopian story paints a compelling picture of a world devoid of an adequate drinking supply, caught between warring governments and special-interest corporations. The characters are colorful and interesting, and in some respects, the scenario is frighteningly plausible... It is a recommended read that will make readers consider their own wastefulness of this precious resource.--Julie Watkins"VOYA (Voice of Youth Advocates)" (02/01/2011) "Brilliant and terrifying, Stracher's water-desperate world will make readers re-think letting the water run before a shower or while brushing their teeth. As Will and Vera criss-cross this world, it becomes evident that Stracher has truly considered all of the different outcomes that a water shortage would have on a society. Stracher has created a large cast of characters with enormous skill that has each person standing out from the rest."--Kate Girard"RT" (01/05/2011) Once you start reading The "Water Wars," a simple glass of water becomes something special. The author has done a wonderful job of creating a bleak world, and he describes the dry, parched environment so well that I became thirsty just reading his words... The "Water Wars" is filled with nonstop action and it moves along at a breathless pace... The "Water Wars" is the kind of book I keep thinking about long after I've finished reading because it's based on a realistic scenario. And even though it deals with environmental issues and greed, it never felt preachy. It would be a great book for parents and teens to read together and discuss.--Kristen Alvarez"DaemonsBooks.com" (02/11/2011) The thematic impact of The "Water Wars" was just as intense and disturbing, if not more so, than the Hunger Games novels. Readers of all ages should read this stark novel about greed and ignorance and apathy a wonderful book to initiate discussions (in classrooms, between parents and their children, book clubs, etc.) about environmental stewardship and how the actions of one person can change the world for the better...--Paul Allen"Explorations: The Barnes & Noble SciFi & Fantasy Blog" (01/11/2011) Heart Racing: If finishing The Hunger Games left a gaping hole in your life, Cameron Stracher's "Water Wars" aims to fill it. Set in a dystopian future where a lack of water trumps all else, this adventure tale will keep you turning pages far into the night.--Angela Matano"Campus Circle Newspaper" (02/11/2011) Teen readers looking for something as exciting as the Hunger Games will love "Water Wars". Fast paced reading will entice reluctant readers to keep going to the end. "Water Wars" is an excellent addition to any YA collection, as well as a wonderful tie?in to the young reader's editions of An Inconvenient Truth and other nonfiction titles concerning the future of our planet. --the CATS Meow, Library Newsletter for Children's and Teen Services--Elizabeth Duffy"CATS Meow (Baker and Taylor Newsletter)" (01/01/2011) The action here will take your breath away, with chase scenes and double-crosses... Author Cameron Stracher's dark novel is a page-turner and I was up way past my bedtime reading it. It's easy to visualize the Armageddon-like landscape that Stracher describes, and it's all-too-easy to imagine the futuristic scenario that makes water so precious. Go without food for three weeks and you'll lose a lot of weight. Go without water for three days and you'll die... Don't consider going without "The "Water Wars"" at all. --Terri Schichenmeyer"Detroit Lakes Tribune" (02/11/2011) "I know a river," says Kai. His words seem impossible yet tantalizing to Vera and her brother, Will, whose mother is slowly dying for lack of clean water. Shaped by severe drought, their civilization is caught in a power struggle among governments, and between governments and outsiders such as pirates and environmentalists. When Kai is kidnapped, Will and Vera begin a David-and-Goliath rescue mission that pits them and the allies they find against formidable, well-armed enemies. Set in a dismal future society, this dystopian novel sets up a good premise... Once the plot gets in gear, the driving force is action... Readers who enjoy the adventure may also find some social and ecological food for thought along the way.--Carolyn Phelan"Booklist" (03/01/2011) In the tradition of THE HUNGER GAMES, Cameron Stracher's WATER WARS is both a trenchant cautionary tale of a world drained of its most precious resource and a rousing adventure-story of the plucky young heroes who set out to save it. Perfect for young readers-but with more than enough substance for mom and dad as well. --Justin Cronin, author of THE PASSAGE "Let us pray that the world which Cameron Stracher has invented in THE WATER WARS is testament solely to his pure, wild, and brilliant imagination, and not his ability to see the future. I was parched just reading it." -- Laurie David, academy award winning producer of An Inconvenient Truth, and author of The Down to Earth Guide to Global Warming "THE WATER WARS is a gripping environmental thriller with a too-real message. Cameron Stracher tells a story with quick pacing, compelling characters and a vision of a frightening future." - Howard Gordon, Executive Producer, '24, ' and author of Gideon's War (forthcoming 2011).

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Water Wars on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top