Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Winter in Anna: A Novel

A young man, Eric, drops out of college and lucks into a job with a small-town newspaper where he meets Anna-a woman whose story will both haunt and inspire him for the rest of his life. Set in a remote North Dakota community in the last days before the Internet, The Winter in Anna unfolds around a romance that almost was, and a meditation on what constitutes a life well lived. In wistful, moving reflections, Eric looks back on his days with Anna and struggles to reconcile his memories with what he has since learned of her. The Winter in Anna is a stirring and thoughtful novel filled with moments of tenderness, even as it slowly reveals an unbearable tragedy at the heart of a quietly defiant life.
Product Details

About the Author

Reed Karaim is the author of If Men Were Angels, a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection. He lives in Tucson, Arizona, with his wife and daughter.


"A melancholy, earnest study of friendship." -- Kirkus "Captivating... [W]onderfully crafted... a beautiful, touching novel." -- Publishers Weekly "Memorable... The Winter in Anna is both thoughtful and introspective, in the tradition of Pat Conroy and Ward Just." -- Ian Schwartz - BookPage "[A] literary heart stopper." -- Chris Stuckenschneider - The Missourian "An atmospheric and beautifully written capsule of loss, regret, and moments of salvation." -- Vicki Ann Duraine - Arizona Daily Star "The Winter in Anna is a deeply affecting elegy. As I read, I slowly realized that Anna herself-so full of what Chekhov called `haunting pathos'-would be a heart-wrenching character, and she is. Karaim works a beautifully paced magic. I somehow heard, page by page, Bach's Unaccompanied Cello suites drifting in through the North Dakota snow." -- Howard Norman, author of My Darling Detective "Reed Karaim tells a `tribal and ancient story' about how our early choices shape us... With exotic details of a state filled with fire and ice, The Winter in Anna shows who we often find impossible to forgive: our younger selves." -- Maureen Gibbon, author of Paris Red "I couldn't put down this wise tale-by turns bone-chilling, rollicking, bittersweet-of a young man's stint at the sort of small-town newspaper that, sadly, has all but vanished. The Winter in Anna arrives via the journalist's older self-husband, father-and is enriched and enlarged by his big-hearted musings on what he failed to understand in his youth and how that failure haunts him still." -- Elizabeth Evans, author of As Good As Dead "The Winter in Anna is filled with the secret knowledge I want out of a novel, particularly concerning the important subjects in life: love, pain, North Dakota, newspapers, small towns, family, loyalty, friendship, and regret. I could tell this book was good when reading it felt like a secret I was keeping from my family and from the world." -- Ander Monson, author of Letter to a Future Lover "A deceptively quiet novel that gradually gathers power around the themes of love, loss, memory, and the paramount importance of doing good work well. Gorgeous and affirming." -- Mark Costello, National Book Award-nominated author of Big If

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Winter in Anna: A Novel on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top