SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Would Everybody Please Stop?
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Jenny Allen is a writer and performer. Her articles and essays have appeared in The New Yorker and The New York Times, among other publications. Her award-winning solo show, I Got Sick Then I Got Better, has been seen in venues across the country and in Canada. She lives on Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts. Would Everybody Please Stop? is her first book.

Reviews

"A tartly funny and often piercingly emotional ramble through life at a certain age." --Penelope Green, The New York Times "Observant . . . charming and companionable . . . To read the entire collection is to feel that one has gained an eccentric, generous new friend" --Brook Allen, The Wall Street Journal "Most of the 35 very short essays in Would Everybody Please Stop? are either hilarious, heartfelt, or both . . . Wonderful . . . Allen can be playful, sarcastic, and astute . . . There's sharp wit and social commentary aplenty . . . As delightful as her humor is, her serious essays hit deeper . . . It's all good." --Heller McAlpin, NPR "A laugh-out-loud funny debut . . . A comedic celebration of womanhood and growing up, these 35 short essays will have you second guessing why you ever avoided essays to begin with." --Bustle "The secret to a good monologue--and to being a good monologist, of course--lies in being able to speak alone in a way that a group of other people wants to hear. The author-performer Jenny Allen has made her name over the years both on the page and on the stage as just such a storyteller . . . Fans of Nora Ephron, Erma Bombeck and even the peevish Andy Rooney will find a lot to enjoy in these essays, which are lively and not afraid to be quarrelsome." --Kathleen Rooney, Chicago Tribune "The essays make you laugh aloud and draw you in with a difficult-to-pull-off blend of wit and pathos. She comes across in print as she does in person: candid, ironic, and earthy yet worldly." --Martha's Vineyard Magazine "If you can get your hands on Jenny Allen's new book, Would Everybody Please Stop? you may be tempted to gobble it all up at one sitting, telling yourself, "Just one more, and then I'll save the rest for later." But don't do it. Portion out these deliciously funny essays so that you can have some serious laughs a few days running. . . Some humor writers work very hard to be funny; others, like Ms. Allen, just can't help themselves." --Martha's Vineyard Times "A fantastic compilation of her greatest hits . . . Both heartfelt and hilarious" --Tory Daily "A hysterical essay collection filled with so-called 'reflections on life' and 'other bad ideas' that will keep the tears (of laughter) coming." --Elite Daily "Like humorist Erma Bombeck, yet for the 21st century, Allen has a conversational but dramatic performer's voice that comes through in her essays and is a joy to spend time with as she deals with some of the harsher aspects of life . . . These pieces balance out into well-rounded set of writings that should please most humor fans; the lives of middle-aged women deserve more focus, and so Allen's rich vein of pathos is a welcome addition. Verdict: Lovers of darkly humorous domestic comedy will enjoy this one . . . everyone should be able to find something to appreciate." --Margaret Heller, Library Journal "This level of humor is one of the hardest to pull off. Most writers on the Humor shelf don't even try. In Would Everybody Please Stop? Reflections on Life and Other Bad Ideas, Jenny Allen rarely misses." --Jesse Kornbluth, Head Butler "Am I permitted to say 'I laughed my ass off?' I was already a Jenny Allen fan, always hoping that every 'Shouts & Murmurs' piece would be hers, so imagine my delight in a collection of these gems. Would Everybody Please Stop? is deeply, wisely funny, with delicious, lovable neuroses on display. I adored it." --Elinor Lipman, author of On Turpentine Lane and The Inn at Lake Devine "Jenny Allen gets to the heart of things in the most inventive, unexpected ways. And she's funny. Really, really funny. Wildly funny. And sometimes she breaks my heart." --Delia Ephron, author of Siracusa "I love this book more than Romeo loved Juliet. Also, it is so much funnier and more fun than that pill Juliet." --Patricia Marx, author of Him Her Him Again The End of Him "Really it's too bad that Jenny Allen refuses to drink in any bar with a giant fish tank, never called that raw food restaurant to ask for their insanely good German chocolate cake recipe, and caused the annoying family upstairs to vanish into thin air. Because otherwise Jenny Allen is just plain perfect." --Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Witches

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Would Everybody Please Stop?: Reflections on Life and Other Bad Ideas on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top