Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Written in Dead Wax

He is a record collector - a connoisseur of vinyl, hunting out rare and elusive LPs. His business card describes him as the "Vinyl Detective" and some people take this more literally than others. Like the beautiful, mysterious woman who wants to pay him a large sum of money to find a priceless lost recording - on behalf of an extremely wealthy (and rather sinister) shadowy client. Given that he's just about to run out of cat biscuits, this gets our hero's full attention. So begins a painful and dangerous odyssey in search of the rarest jazz record of them all...
Product Details

Promotional Information

Interviews and reviews in national broadsheets;Extracts and reviews on crime and books websites;Interviews, extracts and reviews in crime, entertainment and lifestyle magazines;Promotion on and Titanbooks social media channels;A brand-new mystery series featuring the Vinyl Detective - where the search for a valuable record so often leads to murder...;Appeal for fans of Colin Bateman, Malcolm Price, Declan Burke, Nick Hornby and Robert Lewis

About the Author

Andrew Cartmel is a novelist and screenwriter. His work for television includes Midsomer Murders and Torchwood, and a legendary stint as Script Editor on Doctor Who. He has also written plays for the London Fringe, toured as a stand-up comedian, and is currently co-writing with Ben Aaronovitch a series of comics based on the bestselling Rivers of London books. He lives in London.


"An irresistible blend of murder, mystery and music... our protagonist seeks to find the rarest of records - and incidentally solve a murder, right a great historical injustice and , if he's very lucky, avoid dying in the process." - Ben; "The Vinyl Detective is one of the sharpest and most original characters I've seen for a long time." - David Quantick.

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Written in Dead Wax: A Vinyl Detective Mystery 1 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top