Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Yard
By

Rating
A year after Jack the Ripper claimed his last victim, Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty. When the body of a Yard detective is found in a suitcase, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that not even the police are safe from attack. Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large? Walter Day, the squad's newest recruit, is assigned the case and finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr Bernard Kingsley. Kingsley, a pioneer of groundbreaking forensic science, is convinced that strange new techniques such as finger printing are the key to finding the person responsible. With Kingsley's help, will Day find the murderer before it's too late? Or are the police once again helpless to stop a serial killer whose brutality knows no limits?
Product Details

About the Author

Alex Grecian worked for an ad agency before returning to writing fiction full-time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic-book series Proof, and the bestselling Scotland Yard Murder Squad series. He lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son.

Reviews

In 1889 London, detectives at Scotland Yard are smarting from their failure to catch Jack the Ripper. Morale worsens when they discover the mutilated body of one of their own, stuffed in a steamer trunk left in Euston Square Station. The newest addition to the force, Walter Day, is put in charge of the investigation. Fortunately, Day has the help of coroner Dr. Kingsley, who uncovers critical evidence thanks to his research into the budding field of forensics. A determined Constable Hammersmith also lends a hand in putting the pieces together while tracking down a kidnapper. Graphic novelist Grecian (Proof) displays a flair for clever and amusing language as well as creating vivid (and occasionally gruesome) depictions of places and events. VERDICT This excellent historical murder mystery series opener and debut introduces a fascinating cast of characters and will appeal to fans of Sherlock Holmes or Jack the Ripper tales. [See Prepub Alert, 12/5/11.]-Laurel Bliss, San Diego State Univ. Lib. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

To hunt for anachronisms in historical fiction is a churlish hobby, but there's a telling one in Alex Grecian's affable first novel, a Victorian thriller. A detective describing his sense of responsibility to the families of murder victims employs a 1990s buzzword that it's exceedingly unlikely would have entered the mind, much less the mouth, of a man in 1889: "closure." The Yard has a great many virtues, including a Dickensian profusion of memorable minor characters, but this misstep lays bare its most serious flaw. Its heroes get shallower, not deeper, until by the book's conclusion they seem like moralizing contemporary stick figures, freed from the complexity of their time. What feels like a third of the novel is devoted to their good deeds and subsequent mutual congratulation. In this mist of bonhomous closure, the suspense of a thriller fades. At the start, police in Euston Station discover a trunk stuffed with the corpse of a Scotland Yard inspector. In the course of a few mostly sleepless days, three men-Walter Day, a newly promoted member of the Yard's "Murder Squad"; Nevil Hammersmith, a shrewd street officer; and Bernard Kingsley, an eccentric physician with an interest in the emerging science of forensics-circle a net around the murderer. The Yard also pays welcome stylistic homage to the rambling Victorian triple-decker, with plots and characters spiraling out in every direction from its initial crime scene. Among others there are a pair of prostitutes haunted by memories of Jack the Ripper, a new police commissioner, an amiably violent thief named Blackleg-and, in absorbing occasional glimpses, the murderer, a madman trying to recreate his lost family. It's this sense of madness that is the book's greatest strength. Grecian places the action of his story directly in the shadow of the Ripper murders, and sketches, intriguingly, how those crimes have forced the police to accept that murder can have darkly psychological motives. Grecian has a fine, flexible, curious voice, and The Yard looks as if it could be the start of a promising series; indeed, the enterprising Blackleg on his own could profitably drive a sequel, and the rise of forensics is a fascinating subject. And then, Grecian's error is a common one. Even great authors working in the genre, such as David Mitchell and Patrick O'Brian, have given their characters an unrealistically modern broadness of mind. After all, the past is a brutish place, and what a real Walter Day would have believed in his heart-about sex, class, race-would likely alienate us immediately. The solution most writers have found, alas, is perhaps the most serious deficiency historical fiction has: a palliating dishonesty about what went on in the heads of people in other times. To his credit, Grecian lends great realism to his secondary characters; he may just be too fond of his primary ones to permit them their true context. Agent: Seth Fishman, the Gernert Company. (June) Charles Finch is the author of A Death in the Small Hours, which Minotaur will publish in November. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

"Lusciously rich with detail, atmosphere, and history, and yet as fast paced as a locomotive, "The Yard" will keep you riveted from page one. It's truly a one- or two-sitting read."--Jeffery Deaver, author of "Carte Blanche" and "The Bone Collector"

Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Yard: Scotland Yard Murder Squad Book 1 (Scotland Yard Murder Squad) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top