Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Movies » DVD Movies » Foreign » World Movies

The Jia Zhang-Ke Collection [Region 2]

By Fusion Media Sales

Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: DVD
Release Date: 26 November 2012
Collection of three Zhangke Jia films. In 'Pickpocket' (1998), Xiao Wu (Hongwei Wang), a pickpocket and petty criminal whose friends have made it clear they want nothing to do with him, wanders the streets of Fengyang, growing increasingly alienated as a result of his failure to relate meaningfully to anyone, or to understand the changing times of his country. In 'Platform' (2000), the year is 1979 and Minliang (Wang), Ruijian (Tao Zhao) and Chang Jun (Jing-dong Liang) all work as part of the Peasant Culture Group, a theatrical troupe who perform works extolling the achievements of Chairman Mao. Everything begins to change when they are called together and told that state policy now requires them to incorporate Western elements into their performances and also to fend for themselves as a privately-owned outfit without state subsidy. Over the following decade, the personal and romantic problems within the group are played out against a backdrop of rapid cultural transformation, with the troupe - now known as the All-Star Rock and Breakdance Band - struggling to survive as they deal with the problem of ever-dwindling audiences. 'Unknown Pleasures' (2002) follows the lives of two 19-year-old friends who live in the provincial Chinese city of Datong. Disaffected and without jobs or ambition they pass their days wandering around town on their motorbikes dreaming of escape whilst around them China is changing; television begins to show their country's developing political and economic role in the world and how globalisation has reached China.

Technical Specs:
  • Interactive Menu


This is a Region 2 disc. A multi-region player is required in order to play this disc in Australia.

Studio: Artificial Eye
Number of Discs: 3
Region: 2
Director: Zhangke Jia
Cast: Hongwei Wang, Hongjian Hao, Baitao Zuo, Jinrei Ma, Junying Liu, Yonghao Liang, Qunyan An, Dongdong Jiang, Zhao Long, Reiren Wang, Tao Zhao, Liang Jing-dong, Yang Tian-yi
Writer: Zhangke Jia
Producer: Zhangke Jia, Li Kit-ming, Shozo Ichiyama
Audio: English
Publisher: Fusion Media Sales
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Jia Zhang-Ke Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.