Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds [Region 4]

New or Used: $52.84
Album: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds: Kicking Against the Pricks (Collector's Edition) (CD/DVD)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Muddy Water
2)    I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
3)    Sleeping Annaleah
4)    Long Black Veil
5)    Hey Joe
6)    Singer, The
7)    All Tomorrow's Parties
8)    By the Time I Get to Phoenix
9)    Hammer Song, The
10)    Something's Gotten Hold of My Heart
11)    Jesus Met the Woman at the Well
12)    Carnival is Over, The
1)    Kicking Against the Pricks In 5.1 Surround Sound
2)    Black Betty
3)    Running Scared
4)    Do You Love Me Like I Love You (Part 3: Kicking Against the Pricks)
5)    Singer, The
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds: Nick Cave (vocals, piano, organ); Mick Harvey (acoustic & electric guitars, piano, vibraphone, bass, drums, background vocals); Blixa Bargeld (electric & slide guitars, background vocals); Barry Adamson (bass, background vocals); Thomas Wydler (drums).
  • Personnel: Berliner Kaffehausmusik Ensemble (strings).
  • Audio Remasterer: Simon Heyworth.
  • Arranger: Mick Harvey.
  • While Cave wore his blues influence on his sleeve on his earlier solo recordings, this covers albums goes several steps further, revealing the full range of the artist's inspiration. While Cave does his unparalleled goth-blues thing on John Lee Hooker's "I'm Gonna Kill That Woman," that's only the beginning of the story. Cave convincingly tackles predictable proto-punk fare like the Velvet Underground's "All Tomorrow's Parties", but more importantly, Cave the balladeer makes his debut here.
  • From Jimmy Webb's "By the Time I Get to Phoenix" to Mickey Newbury's "Sleeping Annaleah," Cave practices the brand of gloriously melodramatic crooning that would define his '90s work. Accordingly, Cave's singing began to develop here, from the crazed ranting of his early days to a more luxurious baritone. Blixa Bargeld's guitar also plays a role of increased importance--he would prove Cave's perfect foil for years to come.
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (5/01, p.46) - "...Goth-baffling selection of blues, country, gospel and '60s pop standards..."

Pitchfork (Website) - "[C]ertainly, the Bad Seeds have never sounded more cheerful than in the sloshed group sing-along of the Velvets' 'All Tomorrow's Parties' and the cheeky, cowpoke reading of country ballad 'Long Black Veil'."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.79) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "His choice of songs astonishes...turning fellow Aussies The Seeker's lightweight folk song `The Carnival Is Over' into a funereal credit-roller..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Movies » DVD Music » Music
Home » Music » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds: Kicking Against the Pricks (Collector's Edition) (CD/DVD) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top