Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano


Artist: Clarence Williams

Elsewhere $43.49 $34.97   Save $8.52 (20%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Classics
Album: 1937-1941
# Song Title   Time
1)    Feel de Spirit
2)    Old Time Religion
3)    Lord Deliver Daniel
4)    Sweet Kisses
5)    Go Down, Moses
6)    Do You Call Dat Religion?
7)    Jericho
8)    Lazy Swing
9)    Roll, Jordan, Roll
10)    Heaven, Heaven
11)    There Is Love
12)    It's Me, O Lord
13)    Get on Board, Li'l Chillun
14)    Step on It
15)    Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
16)    Bluer Than Blue
17)    I'm Falling for You
18)    Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away)
19)    Uncle Sammy, Here I Am
20)    Thriller Blues

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Clarence Williams (vocals, piano); Eva Taylor (vocals); Buster Bailey, Russell Procope (alto saxophone, clarinet); Cecil Scott (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Ed Allen (cornet); James P. Johnson (piano); Cozy Cole (drums).
  • Recorded in New York, New York between 1937 and 1941. Includes liner notes by Anatol Schenker.
  • Personnel: Clarence Williams (vocals, piano); Eva Taylor, William R. Cooley (vocals); Ed Allen (cello, cornet); Russell Procope, Buster Bailey (clarinet, alto saxophone); Cecil Scott (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Connie Berry, James P. Johnson (piano); Don R. Baker (organ); Cozy Cole, Floyd Casey (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Anatol Schenker.
  • Recording information: New York, NY (04/29/1937-10/22/1941).
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Louis Armstrong; Sidney Bechet.
  • The 14th and final Clarence Williams Classics CD completes the complete reissuance of all of his recordings. By 1937, Williams' career was winding down and his music was far overshadowed by the big swing orchestras. Although the first 15 selections on this CD are listed as being by "Clarence Williams' Swing Band," all but three numbers are spirituals that showcase the forgettable singing of William Cooley. The impressive group (which includes cornetist Ed Allen, clarinetist Buster Bailey, altoist Russell Procope and Cecil Scott on tenor and clarinet) has little to do, except on the instrumentals, and the overall results are a bit disappointing. Also on the CD are three selections from 1938 by an organ-piano-drums trio (two of the songs have vocals by Babe Matthews) that do not actually include Williams. Concluding the lesser release are a pair of performances from 1941 in which Eva Taylor and Clarence Williams are heard on vocals while joined by pianist James P. Johnson (Williams plays second piano), two guitars and bassist Wellman Braud. These final numbers (pity there were not more) hint at the earlier classic recordings and served as Clarence Williams' last hurrah. Completists will want this set. ~ Scott Yanow

Format:CD (0 Disc); Mono
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:1 November, 1997
Guest Artist: Eva Taylor
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling 1937-1941 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.