SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

1979-1982 *

Album: 1979-1982 *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Nightmare City
2)    Today
3)    Night of the Living Dead
4)    Breath of a Barfly
5)    It Only Hurts the First Time
6)    When the World Was Old
7)    Bitter Fruit
8)    Hotel, The
9)    Waiting For the Buzz
10)    Just an Alley Cat
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Alley Cats: Randy Stodola (vocals, guitar); Dianne Chai (vocals, bass guitar); John McCarthy (drums).
  • To the extent that they're remembered at all anymore, the Alley Cats are remembered solely for their pretty great 1979 Dangerhouse single "Nothing Means Nothing Anymore" and their excellent live rendition of same in the punk performance documentary Urgh! A Music War This is because pretty much everything else the Alley Cats ever did was awful, with the exception of their second single, "Too Much Junk." Inexplicably, neither of these songs is on this skimpy 10-track anthology, which jams together three tracks from 1981's generically punky Nightmare City and seven from 1982's truly rotten mainstream-bid follow-up Escape from the Planet Earth. These songs are perfect examples of the worst clich‚s of Los Angeles punk, given stodgy production that doesn't even allow the band's best features (mostly, Randy Stodola's acceptably speedy proto-hardcore guitar riffs and Dianne Chai's bratty kid vocals) their proper due. There is almost no Alley Cats material available on CD other than those two early single sides on various L.A. punk anthologies, but the reasoning behind this strange, half-hearted reissue is mystifying. ~ Stewart Mason
  • DVD Features:
  • DVD Includes:
  • 1. It Only Hurts The First Time
  • 2. Today
  • 3. Night Of The Living Dead -1
  • 4. Night Of The Living Dead -2
  • 5. Escape From Planet Earth
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Punk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling 1979-1982 * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top