Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Album: 1986-1991 *
# Song Title   Time
1)    P.C.P. Crazy/Jaws
2)    Hold Me Closer
3)    And Suddenly
4)    Going Nowhere
5)    Flourish Wish
6)    Untitled
7)    Precious Little Time
8)    Jaws II
9)    Venom P. Stinger
10)    Walking About
11)    26mg
1)    Those Snakes
2)    Before You Open My Eyes
3)    Hell Street
4)    My Hole
5)    Quiet One, The
6)    Impressions
7)    Home Sweet Home
8)    Lethargy
9)    Dear God
10)    Unused
11)    Day Will Come
12)    Greystones
13)    What's Yours is Mine
14)    Pressure Inside
15)    Inside the Waiting Room
16)    I Try, I Really Try
17)    Turning Green
18)    In Love
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Dugald Mackenzie (vocals); Mick Turner (guitar); Jim White (drums).
  • Recording information: Hot House (07/1986); K.A.J. Studios (07/1986); Silkwood Studios (07/1986); Stupid and Saturn Studios (07/1986); Hot House (10/1987); K.A.J. Studios (10/1987); Silkwood Studios (10/1987); Stupid and Saturn Studios (10/1987).
  • Australia's Venom P. Stinger grew out of a small underground scene in Melbourne. Guitarist Mick Turner (Moodists, Fungus Brains, Sick Things) and vocalist Dugald McKenzie (Sick Things) joined bassist Alan Secher-Jensen and drummer Jim White (Feral Dinosaurs, People with Chairs Stuffed Up Their Noses), to form one of the most unique, punishing, and (unintentionally) innovative bands ever inspired by punk rock. Of course Turner and White would later form Dirty Three with Warren Ellis, but don't look for that band's roots here. Drag City's two-disc 1986-1991 contains the original band's debut full-length, Meet My Friend Venom, and the "Walking About"/"26 Mg" single. Disc two presents singer Nick Palmer in McKenzie's role. This incarnation recorded the full-length, What's Yours Is Mine and the Waiting Room 12" EP. On "P.C.P. Crazy/Jaws," White's drumming, already fully formed, is frenetic; he double- and triple-times the bassist and Turner in militaristic fashion with explosive snares and pummeling kick drum, slipping the frame and moving on into improvisation. Back then, Turner was playing his own version of angular slash-and-burn rockabilly and sharp-fanged, twisted blues. On this cut he uses the two-note vamp from the Jaws theme as a jumping-off point to careen across the bassline's changes with shambolic riffs and razor-wire single lines. Secher-Jensen tries to ground it all, but McKenzie's drunken howl, growl, and wail push it into the red. "Walking About" commences with white heat martial snare and kick drum -- the tempo is staggering (metal blastbeat drummers have nothing on White) -- forcing McKenzie to enter at full-tilt jabber. Turner's attack combines single-line runs, riffs, and drone strings in a feedback wail. The startling stops and starts in the arrangement throw the listener off before Venom's off and racing again. The material on disc two is a bit less hyper; song structures seem more conventional but are more infused with post-punk's experimentalism to compensate, and never lose their sheer power. "The Quiet One" is anything but. Its droning, ringing guitars, played to an off-kilter time signature from White, speed up a droning riff inspired by the eastern modal tinges in the Velvets' "Venus in Furs," but are more intense, chaotic, and sinister. "Impressions" is so off the rails that if it weren't for White's rhythmic command, it would collapse. But then there is the barbed-wire attempt at country in "Lethargy" that's so overheated, it barely holds itself together. That said, the band push at the margins repeatedly, daring the sonic whirlwind to consume them. "What's Yours Is Mine" is off-minor, evil, mutant rockabilly, with White's skittering shuffle, and Turner's screaming slide guitar conjuring the maelstrom … la the Gun Club at its best, but charges far beyond that. Venom P. Stinger's 1986-1991 proves two things: that this band was unlike any other before or since, and that sometimes the term "too much of a good thing" is meaningless. ~ Thom Jurek
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling 1986-1991 * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top