Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock

20th Century Boy

The Ultimate Collection

Artist: Marc Bolan & T. Rex

Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Hip-O
Album: 20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Debora
2)    One Inch Rock
3)    King of the Rumbling Spires
4)    By the Light of a Magical Moon
5)    Elemental Child
6)    Ride a White Swan
7)    Summertime Blues
8)    Jewel
9)    Beltane Walk
10)    Hot Love
11)    Bang a Gong (Get It On)
12)    Raw Ramp
13)    Cosmic Dancer
14)    Jeepster
15)    Telegram Sam
16)    Metal Guru
17)    Mystic Lady
18)    Slider, The
19)    Children of the Revolution
20)    Solid Gold Easy Action
21)    Born to Boogie
22)    20th Century Boy
23)    I Love to Boogie

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Marc Bolan (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, harmonium, organ, bass); Steve Peregrino Took (kazoo, piano, bass, drums, bongos, percussion, gong, background vocals); Ian McDonald (saxophone); Burt Collins (flugelhorn); Dino Dines (keyboards); Mickey Finn (bass, drums, tabla, percussion, background vocals); Steve Currie (bass); Davey Lutton, Willie Legend (drums); Flo & Eddie, Vicky Brown, Barry St. John (background vocals).
  • Producers: Tony Visconti, Marc Bolan.
  • Compilation producer: Bill Levenson.
  • Recorded between 1968 & 1976. Includes liner notes by Dave Thompson.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Marc Bolan (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, fiddle, harmonica, harmonium); Ian McDonald (saxophone); Burt Collins (flugelhorn); Dino Dines (keyboards); Will Legend, Dave Lutton (drums); Mickey Finn (clay drum, tabla, percussion, background vocals); Victoria "Vicky B" Brown, Sue & Sunny, Howard Kaylan, Mark Volman, Barry St. John (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Dave Thompson .
  • Marc Bolan & T. Rex never troubled the pop culture radar in the US beyond one minor hit single, making them perhaps the biggest UK stars to never leave any significant stateside impression. As a result, their catalogue has rarely been properly served by US labels, with the songs that made Bolan's name remaining out of print for years at a time while UK labels large and small released every tiny scrap of rehearsal tape, often multiple times.
  • After Mitsubishi Motors used the stomping "20th Century Boy" in an ad campaign (somewhat ghoulishly, considering that Bolan was killed in an auto accident) in 2002, Universal's Hip-O reissue imprint took the opportunity to rectify the poor state of Bolan's catalogue with the solidly impressive 20TH CENTURY BOY: THE ULTIMATE COLLECTION. Thoughtfully, the set starts with five tracks from Bolan's lesser-known early psychedelic period as Tyrannosaurus Rex, including the spectacularly weird "King of the Rumbling Spires," before laying out the classic string of '70s glam-rock boogie hits ("Bang a Gong [Get It On]") and a few choice B-sides. For those wanting to stick to a single T. Rex disc, this is the one to choose.

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (9/19/02, p.110) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Bolan's singing, songwriting and stinging guitar prove why his band inspired everyone from Bowie to the Ramones."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:20 August, 2002
Guest Artist: Flo & Eddie
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

2 review(s)
All Reviews
Merrilyn Glen on
Great to listen to again after many years.
Barb Draney on
If you are a T.Rex fan, as I am, then you HAVE TO BUY THIS!!! It is great. Love it.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling 20th Century Boy: The Ultimate Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.