Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

3 Kings

Album: 3 Kings
# Song Title   Time
1)    Take It Wrong - (featuring Black-Ty)
2)    No Fun
3)    Sex Never Felt Better
4)    I Need
5)    Next Time Around
6)    Interlude
7)    Hurry
8)    Weekend Love
9)    Lessons in Love
10)    Interlude
11)    Explode
12)    FYH
13)    OMG
14)    Running Back
15)    Burn Out
16)    Tearing It Down
17)    Our House
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Greystone Studios; Mason Sound, North Hollywood, CA; Platinum Sound, New York, NY; The Hampton Studios, NJ; Voltron Recordz "Love Room" Studio.
  • Photographer: Marc Baptiste.
  • In 2007, Tyrese, Ginuwine, and Tank -- singers who have well over a dozen Top Ten R&B albums between them -- worked on a remix of Tank's "Please Don't Go" and then appeared on a Slim Thug track. Restrictive industry logistics prevented the group from moving forward. Several years later, the trio signed with Atlantic to make the satisfactory Three Kings, an hourlong affair that doesn't deviate much from any of the men's recent solo work. They're mature enough to admit imperfections and plead for forgiveness, yet they're not above being as over-the-top salacious as singers half their age. Tank is the most accomplished songwriter of the three -- he penned "One" for Tyrese and "Heaven" for Ginuwine -- so it's unsurprising that he contributed the most to the songwriting process. He either wrote or co-wrote eight of the songs, while Ginuwine took part in four songs and Tyrese had a hand in two -- four if interludes are counted. The most notable aspect of the album is that it was released by an R&B group. A close second is that it required well over 20 additional songwriters -- north of 30 if sample credits are factored in -- to be made. It's heavy on slow jams and ballads, drawing from elder leaders of the form, such as the Isley Brothers, Roger Troutman, and R. Kelly. Some of the songs are as strong as anything from the members' 2010s solo work, but not much truly stands out. Opener "Take It Wrong," for instance, resembles a rewrite of Chris Brown's "Take My Time" (which happened to feature Tank in a non-writing role). The Tank-led "Explode" slithers like his "Compliments," but it's nonetheless a highlight, as are "I Need" and "Next Time Around" -- songs where the trio members sound like they weren't thrown together merely for the sake of standing out in a field that consists almost exclusively of solo artists. ~ Andy Kellman
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling 3 Kings on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top