Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

461 Ocean Boulevard [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] [Remaster]

Album: 461 Ocean Boulevard [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    Motherless Children More Info... 4:51
2)    Give Me Strength More Info... 2:52
3)    Willie And The Hand Jive More Info... 3:30
4)    Get Ready More Info... 3:48
5)    I Shot The Sheriff More Info... 4:24
6)    I Can't Hold Out More Info... 4:12
7)    Please Be With Me More Info... 3:26
8)    Let It Grow More Info... 4:58
9)    Steady Rollin' Man More Info... 3:13
10)    Mainline Florida More Info... 4:05
11)    Lonesone Road Blues More Info... 5:15
12)    Ain't That Lovin You More Info... 5:28
13)    Meet Me (Down At The Bottom) More Info... 6:57
14)    Eric After Hours Blues More Info... 4:21
15)    B Minor Jam More Info... 7:11
  Disc 2
1)    Smile Live At Hammersmith More Info... 4:40
2)    Let It Grow Live At Hammersmith More Info... 6:24
3)    Can't Find My Way Home Live At Hammersmith More Info... 4:49
4)    I Shot The Sheriff Live Version More Info... 7:50
5)    Tell The Truth Live At Hammersmith More Info... 7:03
6)    The Sky Is Crying / Have You Ever Loved A Woman / Rambling On My Mind More Info... 7:24
7)    Little Wing Live At Hammersmith More Info... 6:50
8)    Singin' The Blues Live At Hammersmith More Info... 7:43
9)    Badge Live At Hammersmith More Info... 8:36
10)    Layla Live At Hammersmith More Info... 5:27
11)    Let It Rain Live At Hammersmith More Info... 6:34
Product Details


1. Motherless Children

2. Give Me Strength

3. Willie And The Hand Jive

4. Get Ready

5. I Shot The Sheriff

6. I Can't Hold Out

7. Please Be With Me

8. Let It Grow

9. Steady Rollin Man

10. Walkin Down The Road [Session Outtakes]

11. Ain't That Lovin' You [Session Outtakes]

12. Meet Me [Down At The Bottom][Session Outtakes]

13. Meet Me [Down At The Bottom] [Session Outtakes]

14. Eric After Hours Blue [Session Outtakes]

15. B Minor Jam [Session Outtakes]

16. Smile [Live][Previously Unreleased]

17. Let It Grow [Live] [Previously Unreleased]

18. Can't Find My Way Home [Live] [Previously Unreleased]

19. I Shot The Sheriff [Live]

20. Tell The Truth [Live]

21. The Sky Is Cryin' /Ramblin' On My Mind/Have You Ever Loved A

22. Little Wing [Live]

23. Singing The Blues [Live] [Previously Unreleased]

24. Badge [Live] [Previously Unreleased]

25. Layla [Live] [Previously Unreleased]

26. Let It Rain [Live] [Previously Unreleased]

Performer Notes
  • Includes a bonus disc Live At Hammersmith Odeon, London.
  • Personnel: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar, dobro); Eric Clapton; Marcy Levy (harmonica, background vocals); Albhy Galuten (piano, electric piano, clavichord, synthesizer, ARP synthesizer); Carl Radle (bass guitar); Jamie Oldaker (drums, percussion); Al Jackson, Jr. , Ali Muhammed Jackson , Jim Fox (drums); George Terry, Yvonne Elliman (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Dick Sims (organ, keyboards); Tom Bernfield (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
  • Recording information: Criteria Studios, Miami, FL (04/??/1974-12/05/1974); The Hammersmith Odeon, London, England (04/??/1974-12/05/1974).
  • Photographer: David Gahr.
  • Arrangers: Eric Clapton; Carl Radle.
  • After playing the 1973 Rainbow Concerts that were arranged by good friend Pete Townshend, Eric Clapton returned to Florida's Criteria Recording Studio to cut 461 OCEAN BOULEVARD. Because of a stint of personal turmoil, Clapton had not played guitar for two years preceeding the Rainbow Concerts, but with the help of a core group of musicians including George Terry, former Derek & the Dominos bassist Carl Radle, Jamie Oldaker, and Yvonne Elliman, Slowhand put together an album that many consider to be his best.
  • Focusing more on his singing than his guitar pyrotechnics of the past, the new, improved Clapton used a laid-back, J.J. Cale-type vocal style to great effect on a mellow version of "Willie And The Hand Jive" and Elmore James's "I Can't Hold Out." Far from being a kinder, gentler guitar hero, Clapton also showed considerable spark on a slide-drenched "Motherless Children" and the driving "Mainline Florida," which closes out the album. Of course, his cover of Bob Marley's "I Shot The Sheriff" was the musical statement that took him to the top of the charts and let the general public know he was back. 461 OCEAN BOULEVARD is still one of the highest points of Clapton's solo career.
Professional Reviews
Q (2/96, p.104) - 3 Stars (out of 5) - "...closed the chapter on Clapton as guitar hero and opened a new one as a hitmaker with a more relaxed and commercial style..."

Uncut (p.172) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]he 1974 album on which Clapton rediscovered the primacy of music in his life. The result was a joyous collection..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.119) - 4 stars out of 5 - "A form-finding set, comedown as comeback."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling 461 Ocean Boulevard [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top