Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 *

New or Used: $13.95
Album: Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sugar Never Tasted So Good
2)    Apple Blossom [Remixed] - (remix)
3)    I'm Bound to Pack It Up [Remixed] - (remix)
4)    Hotel Yorba
5)    We're Going to Be Friends
6)    You've Got Her in Your Pocket
7)    Well It's True That We Love One Another
8)    Never Far Away
9)    Forever for Her (Is Over for Me)
10)    White Moon
11)    As Ugly as I Seem
12)    City Lights [Previously Unreleased] - (previously unreleased)
13)    Honey, We Can't Afford to Look This Cheap
14)    Effect and Cause
1)    Love Is the Truth [Acoustic Mix] - (remix)
2)    Top Yourself [Bluegrass Version]
3)    Carolina Drama [Acoustic Mix] - (remix)
4)    Love Interruption
5)    On and on and On
6)    Machine Gun Silhouette [Acoustic Mix] - (remix)
7)    Blunderbuss
8)    Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy [Alternate Mix] - (remix)
9)    I Guess I Should Go to Sleep [Alternate Mix] - (remix)
10)    Just One Drink [Acoustic Mix] - (remix)
11)    Entitlement
12)    Want and Able
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Greil Marcus.
  • Photographer: David Swanson .
  • Natural-born archivist that he is, it is no surprise that Jack White would eventually choose to curate his own career. Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 is his first attempt at offering an alternative narrative of his own career, one that places his quieter side as the connecting thread running from the White Stripes through the Raconteurs to his solo work. It's a tactic that diminishes some of the conventional notions about White, particularly that most of his music is grounded in the blues. Despite Greil Marcus' mention of blues icon Son House in the liner notes, most of the music on Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 bears stronger ties to country and folk, even British Invasion pop; the latter is evident not only on the singsong whimsy of "We're Going to Be Friends" but the cinematic melancholy of "Forever for Her (Is Over for Me)." Neither version here is heard in an alternate version, underscoring how this spin on White's work isn't revisionist, it highlights what was already there, yet there are rarities scattered throughout the collection: remixes of the early Stripes tracks "Apple Blossom" and "I'm Bound to Pack It Up," alternate acoustic mixes of solo material from the 2010s, bluegrass versions of "Top Yourself" and "Carolina Drama," a song from the Raconteurs. What first grabs the attention are assorted White Stripes rarities -- the wry, funny Beck-produced B-side "Honey, We Can't Afford to Look This Cheap," the recently completed outtake "City Lights" -- and a stripped-down revision of "Love Is the Truth," a song White wrote for Coca-Cola in 2006, but what impresses is the consistency. Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 not only is a strong set of songs but it makes it plain that White has been mining the same territory, finding something new within it for nearly two decades. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 4 stars out of 5 -- "They slip from blues to country to gospel to Sixties rock and back in a blink, exchanging spontaneity and craft so effortlessly there's no discernible difference between the two."

Entertainment Weekly - "[I]t showcases White as the meticulous and often disarmingly sincere folk/blues songwriter, not the entertainingly mannered rocker." -- Grade: A-
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top