Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Acte V

Album: Acte V
# Song Title   Time
1)    Corps et Ames [Bodies and Souls]
2)    Loin d'Issy [Far from Issy]
3)    George V
4)    Ultraviolet
5)    Feu Sacr‚ [Fire in the Belly]
6)    Midi-Minuit [Midday-Midnight]
1)    Ultraviolet
2)    Axe du Fou [Axis of Madness]
3)    Feu Sacr‚ [Fire in the Belly]
4)    Soleil [Sun Twelve]
5)    Double Sens [Double Entendre]
6)    Extralucide [Clairvoyant]
7)    clipse [Eclipse]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Benjamin Violet (guitar); Karolina Mlodecka (violin); Sebastien Trognon (flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Dimitri Alexaline (trumpet, flugelhorn); Igor Brover (keyboards); Patrick Forgas (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Patrick Forgas.
  • Recording information: Studio A‚ronef, Paris, France (03/22/2011-03/24/2011); Zoellner Arts Center, Bethlehem, PA (03/22/2011-03/24/2011); Studio A‚ronef, Paris, France (06/19/2010); Zoellner Arts Center, Bethlehem, PA (06/19/2010).
  • Photographers: Matt Urban; Joe Del Tufo; Andr‚ Coutelas; Patrick Collandre.
  • Arranger: Patrick Forgas.
  • Forgas Band Phenomena and Spinal Tap have something in common: they both "go to 11." Of course, Spinal Tap's "11" refers to the extra kick derived from Nigel Tufnel's guitar amp, capable of being turned up "one louder than ten." In FBP's case, "11" signifies the number of beats per measure in a typical piece of music written by bandleader/drummer/composer Patrick Forgas, whose own extra kick might be delivered to the kick drum itself, right before each bar line in the score. Nobody can nail the groove in a time signature with a seven, nine, 11, or 13 in the numerator like Patrick Forgas, who is (for the most part) seemingly allergic to mundane four-on-the-floor rhythms, and Acte V (the fifth album by Forgas and ensemble under the FBP moniker and third FBP release on Cuneiform) is a fine place to immerse oneself in his rhythmic world. The CD portion of this CD/DVD set is quintessential FBP, with the same septet lineup featured on 2009's L'Axe du Fou, including, in addition to Forgas himself, saxophonist S‚bastien Trognon, trumpeter Dimitri Alexaline, guitarist Benjamin Violet, violinist Karolina Mlodecka, keyboardist Igor Brover, and bassist Kengo Mochizuki. Forgas' layered compositional approach is in evidence from the start of opening track "Corps et Ames," as he taps out a stop-start cymbal pattern over Brover's pausing figure on the keys; the drummer fills in the rhythmic gaps as bass and guitar enter, soon joined by violin and trumpet -- and yes, FBP are "going to 11," and actually have been from the first cymbal tap.
  • There are so many rhythmic changeups in the remainder of the piece -- and throughout the album -- that one could begin thinking about the music mathematically instead of just sitting back and enjoying it. But enjoyment is unavoidable as the band's engaging themes, punchy riffs, timbral variety, harmonic shifts, and inspired solos are ingeniously integrated into the rhythmic framework, with results that are truly enveloping at every possible level, never seeming needlessly tricky or complex. And while the signature horn riff and lovely violin part (seeming to flirt with Gershwin's "Summertime") in "Ultraviolet" and the extended solo showcases in the concluding 13-and-a-half-minute opus "Midi-Minuit" (featuring an uncharacteristically even-tempoed heavy and spacy slow fade at the end) might be considered highlights, the album's uniform excellence makes singling out the "best" tracks a futile exercise. Likewise the concert DVD recorded at the 2010 NEARfest, a thrilling set featuring selections from all three Cuneiform CDs (and one pre-Cuneiform album), expertly captured by six camera operators and bookended by split-screen behind-the-scenes footage. It's a pleasure to watch the young bandmembers -- obviously inspired by the music of the elder Forgas in the drum chair -- navigating the kaleidoscopic changes as the compositions ebb and flow while always locking into the leader's clean, crisp, and unflashy forward momentum. Rating 21st century jazz-rock bands on a scale of one to ten, Forgas Band Phenomena merit a clear...you guessed it...11. ~ Dave Lynch
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Acte V on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top