Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Alan Parsons Project Platinum And Gold

Album: Alan Parsons Project Platinum And Gold
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sirius
2)    Eye in the Sky
3)    I Wouldn't Want to Be Like You
4)    Don't Answer Me
5)    Games People Play
6)    You're Gonna Get Your Fingers Burned
7)    Days Are Numbers (The Traveller)
8)    You Don't Believe
9)    Time
10)    Limelight
11)    Sooner or Later
12)    (The System of) Doctor Tarr and Professor Fether
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Alan Parsons (various instruments); Eric Woolfson, Lenny Zakatek, Chris Rainbow, Gary Brooker, John Miles (vocals).
  • Producer: Alan Parsons.
  • Compilation producers: Rob Santos, Gretchen Brennison.
  • Includes liner notes by Bill Pitzonka.
  • This is part of BMG's "Platinum & Gold" series.
  • Personnel: Lenny Zakatek, Eric Woolfson, Gary Brooker, John Miles, Chris Rainbow (vocals).
  • Liner Note Authors: David Nathan ; Bill Pitzonka.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Clive Davis .
  • The Alan Parsons Project were a rarity -- a prog rock band that had genuine crossover pop hits, and sometimes even sounded better when distilled to singles. Part of the reason for that is that Parsons assembled his band after the heyday of prog rock; the Project released its first album in 1975, a few years after the wild, woolly peak of prog. Another part of the reason is that, as a studio craftsman, he favored lush, immaculate soundscapes that are very pleasing to the ear -- and when wedded to a good melody, made for excellent FM radio cuts and, eventually, soft rock crossovers. Nowhere is that argument proved better than 2003's Platinum & Gold Collection. There have been plenty of other Parsons collections of varying quality -- including the 1997 double-disc set The Definitive Collection for those who want a thorough overview -- but this does the best job of showcasing Parsons' pop personality by presenting the bigger pop hits ("I Wouldn't Want to Be Like You," "Games People Play," "Time," "Eye in the Sky," "Don't Answer Me") along with a few catchy album-oriented radio hits, such as the sleekly atmospheric "Sirius." A couple of key songs -- "I Robot," "Psychobabble" -- are absent, but they're not particularly missed, since this plays so very well as a polished pop album. Out of all the collections, it's the most listenable, and the only Alan Parsons Project album needed for those who appreciate the band for its crossover pop hits. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Alan Parsons Project Platinum And Gold on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top