SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Alive! [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


1. Let The Music Take Your Mind

2. Time To Remember

3. Band Introduction By Buddy Green

4. Sookie, Sookie

5. Down Here On The Ground

6. Hey Western Union Man

7. It's Your Thing

8. Maiden Voyage

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Grant Green (guitar); Claude Bartee (tenor saxophone); William Bivens (vibraphone); Ronnie Foster, Neal Creque (organ); Idris Muhammad (drums); Joseph Armstrong (congas).
  • Producer: Francis Wolff.
  • Reissue producer: Bob Belden.
  • Recorded live at the Cliche Lounge, Newark, New Jersey on August 15, 1970. Originally released on Blue Note (84360). Includes liner notes by Stanley Dance and Bob Belden.
  • Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Kurt Lundvall.
  • Personnel: Grant Green (guitar); Claude Bartee, Jr., Claude Barlee (tenor saxophone); Neal Creque, Ronnie Foster (organ); Billy Bivens, William Bivens (vibraphone); Idris Muhammad (drums); Joseph Armstrong (congas).
  • Audio Remixer: Ray Blair.
  • Liner Note Authors: Stanley Dance; Bob Belden.
  • Recording information: Cliche Lounge, Newark, NJ (08/15/1970).
  • Recorded live in 1970 at the ClichT Lounge in Newark, New Jersey, ALIVE! is Grant Green at his funkiest. Often spurned by critics in his late period for selling out, Green churns out burning riffs and fiery solos on this date, regardless of style. Also making significant contributions to the date are the exceptional organists Neal Creque and Ronnie Foster, saxophonist Claude Bartee, vibraphonist William Bivens, and the irrepressible Idris Muhammad on drums. Whether its raging funk, dreamy Latin, or down-home soul, Green and his men perform with style and flare that is unsurpassed.
  • Many tracks will be familiar to listeners as the band covers a good many pop songs like Kool & The Gang's "Let The Music Take Your Mind" and the Isley Brothers' "It's Your Thing." While this may seem unforgivable to some, Green's stunningly expressive renditions of Creque's "Time To Remember" and Herbie Hancock's classic "Maiden Voyage" should dissuade all doubts as to where the music was coming from. Sadly, most tracks are faded out before the club's patrons applauded, but plenty of cheers were captured as individual band introductions were made. Indeed, applause was warranted as Green was still in command of his highly regarded style.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Guitar
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Alive! [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top