Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

All I Really Want to Do/The Sonny Side of Cher [Beat Goes On] [Remaster] [Slipcase]

Album: All I Really Want to Do/The Sonny Side of Cher [Beat Goes On] [Remaster] [Slipcase]
# Song Title   Time
1)    All I Really Want to Do
2)    I Go to Sleep
3)    Needles and Pins
4)    Don't Think Twice
5)    She Thinks I Still Care
6)    Dream Baby
7)    Bells of Rhymney, The
8)    Girl Don't Come
9)    See See Rider
10)    Come and Stay With Me
11)    Cry Myself to Sleep
12)    Blowin' in the Wind
13)    Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)
14)    Elusive Butterfly
15)    Where Do You Go
16)    Our Day Will Come
17)    Girl from Ipanema, The
18)    It's Not Unusual
19)    Like a Rolling Stone
20)    Time
21)    Come to Your Window
22)    Old Man River
23)    Milord
24)    Young Girl, A (Une Enfante)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 2 LPs on 1 CD: ALL I REALLY WANT TO DO (1965)/THE SONNY SIDE OF CHER (1966).
  • Personnel: Cher (vocals); Donald Peake, Randy Steirling, Monte Dunn, Mike Post, Steve Mann (guitar); Harold Battiste, Jr. (piano); Mike Rubini, Bill Marx, Michel Rubini (harpsichord); Lyle Ritz (bass guitar); Sharkey Hall, Jesse Sailes (drums); Gene Estes, Frank DeVito , Julius Wechter, Brian Stone (percussion); Barney Kessel (guitar); Frank Capp (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
  • Liner Note Authors: Sonny Bono; Richard Oliver; John Tobler.
  • Recording information: Gold Star Studios, Hollywood, CA.
  • Arrangers: Sonny Bono; Harold Battiste, Jr.
  • After Sonny & Cher hit big with "I Got You Babe," Bono decided that he would strike while they were hot and got Cher a solo deal with Liberty Records. The angle they took for the 1965 album All I Really Want to Do was folk-rock with a tiny bit of girl group pop thrown in. Choosing from the songbooks of writers like Dylan (the title track, "Don't Think Twice," "Blowin' in the Wind"), Pete Seeger ("The Bells of Rhymney"), Jackie DeShannon ("Come and Stay With Me"), as well as Bono himself (the Jack Nitszche co-write "Needles and Pins," the girl group classic "Dream Baby") and using his Phil Spector-derived production skills to create rich, chiming backgrounds for Cher to sing over, the duo made what turns out to be one of the stronger folk-pop records of the era. Cher isn't the subtlest singer but she sounds young and full of life on these tracks, like she really believes in what she is singing (a feeling you don't always get on her more lightweight material). No one will mistake her for Joni Mitchell or Sandy Denny, but you shouldn't belittle her efforts as a folk singer, either; All I Really Want to Do is proof that she was for real. On the follow-up record from 1966, The Sonny Side of Cher, Bono tinkers with the formula in inexplicable ways and ends up a chuckle-inducing curiosity, just the kind of record casual listeners might expect. While there are still good covers of Dylan ("Like a Rolling Stone") and a couple of Bob Lind tunes ("Elusive Butterfly" and "Come to Your Window"), for some reason Bono thought it would be a good idea to graft his Spectorized folk-rock sound onto MOR pop tunes like "It's Not Unusual," "Our Day Will Come," and "The Girl From Ipanema." Cher sounds game but uncommitted, the arrangements are over the top (check "Old Man River" for the most OTT sound), and it just doesn't work. The only track that has any real zest is the Bono-written novelty "Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)," the kind of dramatic song Cher could knock out in her sleep but also a song with no real heart. That lack of heart and sense of novelty is what dooms the album. Owning All I Really Want to Do is enough reason to pick up the two-fer disc All I Really Want to Do/The Sonny Side of Cher though, even with the acute dropoff on the second record. ~ Tim Sendra
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling All I Really Want to Do/The Sonny Side of Cher [Beat Goes On] [Remaster] [Slipcase] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top