Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Alpha Mike Foxtrot

Album: Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014 *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Childlike and Evergreen
2)    Someone Else's Song
3)    Passenger Side
4)    Promising
5)    T.B. Is Whipping Me, The
6)    I Must be High
7)    Casino Queen
8)    Who Were You Thinking Of
9)    I Am Not Willing
10)    Burned
11)    Blasting Fonda
12)    Thirteen
13)    Don't You Honey Me
14)    Lonely 1 [White Hen Version], The
15)    No More Poetry
16)    Box Full of Letters
17)    Red-Eyed and Blue
18)    Forget the Flowers
19)    Sunken Treasure
20)    Monday
1)    Passenger Side
2)    Outtasite (Outta Mind)
3)    I Got You (At the End of the Century)
4)    Outta Mind (Outta Site)
5)    James Alley Blues
6)    At My Window Sad and Lonely
7)    California Stars
8)    One Hundred Years From Now
9)    Shot in the Arm [Remix], A - (remix)
10)    ELT [King Size Demo]
11)    Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway (Again) [David Kahne Remix] - (remix)
12)    She's a Jar [Austin Demo]
13)    Tried and True
14)    Studen Loan Stereo
15)    True Love Will Find You in the End
16)    I'm Always in Love [Solo Acoustic Live]
17)    Via Chicago [Austin Demo]
18)    Can't Stand It
19)    Airline to Heaven [Alternate]
20)    Any Major Dude Will Tell You
1)    I'm the Man Who Loves You
2)    Good Part, The
3)    Cars Can't Escape
4)    Camera
5)    Handshake Drugs [First Version]
6)    Magazine Called Sunset, A
7)    Bob Dylan's 49th Beard
8)    Woodgrain
9)    More Like the Moon
10)    Let Me Come Home
11)    Old Maid
12)    Hummingbird [Alternate]
13)    Spiders (Kidsmoke)
14)    Hell is Chrome
15)    At Least That's What You Said
16)    Late Greats, The
17)    Just a Kid - (featuring The Blisters)
18)    Kicking Television
1)    Panthers
2)    Theologians
3)    Another Man's Done Gone
4)    I'm a Wheel
5)    How to Fight Loneliness
6)    One True Vine
7)    Thanks I Get, The
8)    Let's Not Get Carried Away
9)    Hate It Here
10)    Impossible Germany
11)    I Shall Be Released - (featuring Fleet Foxes)
12)    What Light
13)    Jesus, ETC. - (featuring Andrew Bird)
14)    Glad It's Over
15)    Dark Neon
16)    Jolly Banker, The
17)    Unlikely Japan
18)    You and I - (featuring Feist)
19)    I Love My Label
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Authors: Frank Riley; Bill Bentley; David Bither; John Stirratt; Nels Cline.
  • Illustrators: Brian Methe; Miguel Chorda.
  • Photographers: Joshua Kessler; Tony Margherita; Pat Sansone; Jeff Sciortino; Jay Blakesberg; Zoran Orlic; Daniel Coston; Marina Chavez; Paul Natkin; Chris Gorman ; Kevin Wilson; Austin Nelson; Sue Tweedy; Danny Clinch.
  • In the book that accompanies Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014, a four-disc collection of rare and non-LP recordings by Wilco, former Reprise Records publicist Bill Bentley admits that no less a legend than Doug Sahm thought he was making a mistake when, after Uncle Tupelo abruptly and acrimoniously broke up, Bentley opted to work with Jeff Tweedy's new band rather than Son Volt, Jar Farrar's post-UT project. "Come on, Bentley, you gotta go with the other guy," Sahm said, "he's gonna happen." Which was certainly the conventional wisdom when Wilco and Son Volt launched in 1994 -- most fans seemed certain that Farrar was going to go on to a brilliant career on his own, and Tweedy's band would be a fine but lesser commodity. But those bets were off after Wilco released their ambitious, game-changing second album, Being There, in 1996, and in the years that followed, it became clear that Tweedy was a stronger songwriter, a more imaginative sonic visionary, and a keener judge of collaborators than he'd had the chance to show in Uncle Tupelo. Two decades on from their debut, Wilco have created a large and impressively diverse body of work, and Alpha Mike Foxtrot is a massive odds-and-sods collection, bringing together 77 tracks from singles, promo releases, movie soundtracks, bonus discs, and downloads from Wilco's website. Alpha Mike Foxtrot plays like an alternate history of Wilco, and most of what's here is every bit as satisfying as what the band delivered on its first eight studio albums, if more idiosyncratic; it traces the evolution of the band from early solo cassette demos Tweedy cut in his living room to extended workouts from the lineup that solidified after the release of A Ghost Is Born, as Wilco grew from a spirited alt-country combo to a rock band as adventurous and eager to innovate as it was engaging and tuneful (Tweedy's simple but powerful way with a melody is the surest unifying factor that holds these songs together). And the plentiful live tracks here demonstrate how willing Tweedy and his bandmates have been to give their songs new shapes on-stage (a ten-minute live recording of "Spiders [Kidsmoke]" is a tremendous showcase for Nels Cline's stellar guitar work), and there's a fistful of studio tracks that didn't fit on an album but sound splendid in this context, especially the Replacements-styled "Student Loan Stereo," the soulful "The Thanks I Get," and the faux-live pop/rocker "The Good Part." In the strictest sense, nothing on Alpha Mike Foxtrot is unreleased, but there's a lot here that's never been available for general public consumption, and while the sheer bulk of this set means it's most likely to be heard by hardcore fans, anyone with a genuine interest in Wilco will find a lot of great music that fell between the cracks on this set, as well as a fascinating map of the many roads Wilco did and didn't take. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 4.5 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's a comprehensive document of a great band with endless secrets to reveal, even now."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.108) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his is an odyssey both emotional and educational."

Paste (magazine) - "The generous allotment of live tracks offers fans of the band's concerts a chance to hear how the songs have evolved onstage -- the layers of muscular guitars that propel 'The Late Greats,' for example... "
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Exercise
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014 * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top