SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Anthology: The Warner/Reprise Years
# Song Title   Time
1)    Too Far Gone
2)    If I Could Only Win Your Love
3)    Boulder to Birmingham
4)    Together Again
5)    Here, There and Everywhere
6)    One of These Days
7)    Sweet Dreams
8)    You Can Never Tell
9)    Making Believe
10)    Easy from Now On
11)    To Daddy
12)    Two More Bottles of Wine
13)    Save the Last Dance for Me
14)    Beneath Still Waters
15)    Blue Kentucky Girl
16)    Wayfaring Stranger
17)    That Lovin' You Feelin' Again
18)    Boxer, The
19)    Precious Love
20)    Fools Thin Air
21)    Mr. Sandman
22)    Colors of Your Heart
1)    If I Needed You
2)    Tennessee Rose
3)    Born to Run
4)    Another Pot O' Tea
5)    I'm Movin' On
6)    On Our Last Date, (Lost His Love)
7)    So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad)
8)    Maybe Tonight
9)    Drivin' Wheel
10)    In My Dreams
11)    Pledging My Love
12)    Someone Like You
13)    White Line
14)    Rhythm Guitar
15)    Timberline
16)    I Had My Heart Set on You
17)    Today I Started Loving You Again
18)    To Know Him Is to Love Him
19)    Heartbreak Hill
20)    Heaven Only Knows
21)    I Still Miss Someone
22)    Wheels of Love
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Emmylou Harris (vocals, guitar); Don Williams, Roy Orbison (vocals); Rick Cunha, Brian Ahearn, Rodney Crowell, Tony Rice, David Kirby (acoustic guitar); James Burton, Albert Lee, T-Bone Burnett, Vince Gill, Waylon Jennings (electric guitar); Duane Eddy (guitar); Herb Pedersen (12-string guitar, banjo); Ben Keith, Hank DeVito (pedal steel guitar); Ry Cooder (tremolo guitar); Mike Auldridge (dobro); Byron Berline (mandolin); Ricky Skaggs (fiddle); Micky Raphael (harmonica); Kate McGarricle (accordion); Bill Payne, Glen D. Hardin, Jai Winding, Tony Brown, Don Johnson (piano); Emory Gordy (bass); Ron Tutt, John Ware, Russ Kunkel (drums); Dolly Parton, Linda Rondstadt, The Whites, Iris DeMent (background vocals).
  • Includes liner notes by Holly George-Warren.
  • Personnel: Emmylou Harris (acoustic guitar, percussion); Dolly Parton, Dianne Brooks, Linda Ronstadt (vocals, background vocals); Frank Reckard (guitar, electric guitar); Duane Eddy (guitar); Richard Bennett (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, 6-string bass, percussion); Hank DeVito (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dobro); Albert Lee (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, piano, background vocals); Rodney Crowell (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Chris Leuzinger, Paul Kennerley (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Brian Ahern (acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, gut-string guitar, arch guitar, banjo, 6-string bass); Carl Jackson (acoustic guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle); Ricky Skaggs (acoustic guitar, fiddle); Barry Tashian (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Emory Gordy, Trevor Veitch, Paul Worley, Rick Cunha, Tony Rice, Bernie Leadon, Byrd Burton (acoustic guitar); Vince Gill (electric guitar, background vocals); Gerry McGee, James Burton, Ray Flacke, T-Bone Burnett, Waylon Jennings (electric guitar); Herb Pedersen (12-string guitar, banjo, background vocals); Steve Fishell (dobro, percussion); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Bryan Bowers (autoharp); Wayne Goodwin (mandolin, fiddle, tenor saxophone); Kieran Kane (mandolin); Buddy Spicher (viola); Gary Scruggs, Steve Cash, Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Kate McGarrigle, Bessyl Duhon (accordion); Glen D. Hardin (piano, electric piano); Jai Winding, Bill Payne (piano); Bobby Wood (electric piano, organ); Charles Cochran (electric piano); Shane Keister (keyboards, synthesizer); John Jarvis (keyboards); Carl Marsh (synthesizer); Dave Pomeroy (acoustic bass, upright bass, electric bass); Kenny Malone (drums, congas); Larrie Londin, Billy Thomas (drums, percussion); Don Heffington, Ed Greene, Harry Stinson, Ron Tutt, Russ Kunkel, John Ware (drums); Donivan Cowart, Fayssoux Starling, Gail Davies, Barbara Cowart, Mary Ann Kennedy (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
  • Photographers: Jim McGuire ; Charlyn Zlotnik; Michael Putland; Henry Diltz; David Redfern; Richard McCaffrey; Caroline Greyshock.
  • Were it not for Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris, the universally acknowledged king and queen of progressive country, countless young alt-counry bands would have never donned their faded Levi's and battered Telecasters in the first place, and even if they did, they'd surely sound a lot different. In 2001, the smart folks at Rhino Records saw fit to release comprehensive two-disc anthologies of both Harris and Parsons, highlighting the way the pair (separately and together) introduced post-Beatles folk and rock sensibilities into country and expanded it without diluting it.
  • This collection doesn't lure hardcore Harris collectors with mouth-watering rarities, instead it relies on the appeal to both fan and neophyte of the breadth of material in the prolific Harris's catalogue. With her fragile, angelic voice, the premier country interpreter takes on the legends of Townes Van Zandt ("If I Needed You"), Paul Simon ("The Boxer"), and George Jones ("Today I Started Loving You Again") and comes out on top, transforming the songs and creating a new country/folk-rock paradigm in the process. Though she borrows from numerous corners of the pop world (rockabilly, R&B, British Invasion, you name it), Harris's voice is pure country, and the songs end up that much more interesting for having passed through the high-lonesome plains of her vocal talent.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (5/4/01, p.71) - "...Emphasizes her sweeter side....If you're curious but uninformed abouth [this] giant, start here..." - Rating: B

Q (7/01, p.132) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Harris is the real McCoy....this goody bag bulges at the seams..."

Uncut (9/01, p.94) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...Hers is an art of grace and danger: geared to restless aspiration....Here the singer's only "ambition" is to make the air ring anew, and to still the heart's perplexity..."

No Depression (5-6/01, p.121) - "...A perfectly fine introduction...with enough breadth to suggest that the rest of her work be examined....a reminder that she was an iconoclast of artistic integrity....and also a significant commercial country music star..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Anthology: The Warner/Reprise Years on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top