Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Art Angels [Bonus Track] * CD

Album: Art Angels [Bonus Track] * CD
# Song Title   Time
1)    Laughing and Not Being Normal
2)    California
3)    Scream - (featuring Aristophanes)
4)    Flesh Without Blood
5)    Belly of the Beat
6)    Kill vs. Maim
7)    Artangels
8)    Easily
9)    Pin
10)    World Princess, Pt. 2
11)    Venus Fly - (featuring Janelle Mon?e)
12)    Life in the Vivid Dream
13)    Butterfly
14)    Realiti [Demo Version]
15)    [untitled]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Mark "Spike" Stent.
  • Grimes already defied easy classification on Visions, a collection of dreamy electronic collages that resembled pop just enough to make it one of 2012's most acclaimed albums. When she returned three years later with Art Angels, her music was even more paradoxical; Claire Boucher's fourth album is wilder, more ambitious, and -- at least on the surface -- more accessible than her breakthrough. This time, Boucher's production draws attention to all the sounds and styles she's juggling: "laughing and not being normal" begins things with symphonic pomp, its trilling vocals, piano filigrees, and pizzicato strings signaling that this album is an event. "SCREAM," a fiery duet with Taiwanese rapper Aristophanes, incorporates drumline-tinged beats -- as well as Boucher's spine-tingling howls -- into its iconoclastic feminine power, while "Easily" and "Artangels" touch on different but equally shiny flavors of late-'90s pop without a trace of irony. Elsewhere, "World Princess, Pt. 2" and "Venus Fly," which features Janelle Mon?e -- one of the few artists who rivals Grimes when it comes to high-concept, utterly catchy music -- bring Visions' R&B leanings to the fore. It could all lead to sonic whiplash, but Boucher's staunchly independent viewpoint is the glue that holds together Art Angels. She matches the album's bolder sounds with songwriting that's more daring and, at times, more aggressive. On "Kill V. Maim," she combines her perkiest vocals and angriest lyrics, topping beats that land like bombs with cheerleader-like chanting. A reworked version of "Realiti" underscores how driven she sounds here; her declarations of independence are catchier than ever, blending the cute and the formidable until they're one and the same. Similarly, Boucher explores how destruction and creation are joined at the hip in vivid, hooky songs like "Flesh Without Blood," where ending a relationship means self-preservation, and the standout "California," where bliss and disaster meet ("When the ocean rises above the ground/Maybe I'll drown") with an unexpected but very welcome twang. "I'll never be your dream girl," Boucher sings on "Butterfly," but she adds "you could be anything," making the connection between honoring yourself and ignoring others' expectations clear. She does both consistently -- and consistently well -- with Art Angels' truly independent pop. ~ Heather Phares
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he big news on her fourth album is how much she's upped her game as a writer and a singer, giving her music new polish and resonance. ART ANGELS has a sharper, sleeker sound..."

Spin - "Chopped, swirled, and melded together, they make a listening pleasure so acute it's almost guilt-inducing."

Billboard - "ART ANGELS is a marvel of meticulous, even obsessive home-studio recording, uncompromised by bandmates or collaborators."

NME (Magazine) - "[I]t certainly feels like an attempt to bridge the gap between her fervent online cult and tangible, real-world success."

Clash (magazine) - "Sure, there's undercurrents and influence of pop, PC Music, and other electronic sounds, but the importance of the record lies in the way that Grimes has evolved..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Art Angels [Bonus Track] * CD on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top