Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Attempted: Live at Max's Kansas City 1980
# Song Title   Time
1)    Harlem
2)    Radiation
3)    Dream Baby Dream
4)    Ghost Rider
5)    Cadillac
6)    Dance
7)    96 Tears
8)    Rocket U.S.A.
9)    Touch Me / Be Bop A Lula
10)    Night Time
11)    Jesus - (bonus track)
12)    Frankie Teardrop - (bonus track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Suicide: Alan Vega, Martin Rev.
  • Recorded live at Max's Kansas City, New York, New York, 1980.
  • Suicide: Alan Vega, Martin Rev.
  • Liner Note Author: Marty Thau.
  • When the word "document" is used to describe a reissue or some recently excavated live material, it's usually code for "completists only." That's the case with Attempted, which documents a January 1980 performance at Max's Kansas City. Suicide's studio albums have never been known for high fidelity or intricacy, so it's not as if one can expect to hear a live recording with some warm bottom end and crisp, pliable instrumentation. This sounds like it was recorded by an audience member who was too apprehensive to get front and center. Who could blame this person? Alan Vega gives one of the performances that his reputation was built on, jumping from relaxed to rabid in half a moment's notice. Martin Rev's machines sound too distant most of the time, but that won't be an issue for the duo's devout followers. This might as well be considered the antithesis of The Delicate Sound of Thunder. ~ Andy Kellman
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.123) - 3 stars out of 5 - "This unlikely meeting of rock'n'roll and ultra-minimalism peaks on 'Ghost Rider'...where Rev's sibilant rhythm box speeds off like a runaway locomotive."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Attempted: Live at Max's Kansas City 1980 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top