Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Authorized Bootleg - Live, Outdoor Concert, Austin, Texas, 5/25/87

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » General » MP3 Downloads » Blues

Authorized Bootleg - Live, Outdoor Concert, Austin, Texas, 5/25/87

Artist: Robert Cray

Elsewhere $22.49 $16.19   Save $6.30 (28%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Mercury
Album: Authorized Bootleg - Live, Outdoor Concert, Austin, Texas, 5/25/87
# Song Title   Time
1)    Introduction Live More Info... 0:28
2)    I Guess I Showed Her Live More Info... 4:06
3)    Let's Have A Natural Ball Live More Info... 4:53
4)    Spoken Word Interlude Live More Info... 0:28
5)    Don't Touch Me Live More Info... 4:24
6)    Foul Play Live More Info... 4:44
7)    Bad Influence Live More Info... 3:56
8)    Spoken Word Interlude Live More Info... 0:48
9)    The Last Time (I Get Burned Like This) Live More Info... 5:22
10)    Still Around Live More Info... 4:42
11)    Back At The Chicken Shack Live More Info... 7:03
12)    False Accusations Live More Info... 5:04
13)    New Blood Live More Info... 5:37
14)    Phone Booth Live More Info... 3:57
15)    Playin' In The Dirt Live More Info... 5:55
16)    Spoken Word Interlude Live More Info... 0:45
17)    Smoking Gun Live More Info... 6:15
18)    Spoken Word Interlude Live More Info... 0:15
19)    Right Next Door (Because Of Me) Live More Info... 5:14

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Robert Cray (vocals, guitar); Peter Boe (keyboards); David Olson (drums).
  • Recording information: Austin, TX (05/25/1987).
  • Robert Cray's entry into Universal's Authorized Bootleg series is taken from an outdoor concert he gave in Austin, TX on May, 25 1987. Originally recorded and broadcast for the syndicated radio show King Biscuit Flower Hour, the concert captures Cray at something of a peak: his 1986 Strong Persuader album turned into an unexpected hit thanks to the single "Smoking Gun," and he was drawing the kind of large audience blues artists usually couldn't find during the Reagan years. But popularity isn't the only reason that this Authorized Bootleg is a document of Cray at a peak -- his set list illustrated the depth of his blues, touching on Albert King's "Natural Ball" and Jimmy Smith's grooving "Back at the Chick Shack," with his original material (including tunes written by Dennis Walker and recorded first by Cray, such as "Right Next Door (Because of Me)") striking a balance of King's soul-blues, Smith's clean funk, and B.B. King's crossover blues. Cray's Stratocaster stabs are icier than B.B.'s leads, but he's playing joyfully and singing with soul, which is the real reason this is a memorable date. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Format:CD (1 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Live
Release Date:14 May, 2010
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Authorized Bootleg - Live, Outdoor Concert, Austin, Texas, 5/25/87 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.