How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Band The Last Waltz 40th Anniversary Edition

Album: The Band The Last Waltz 40th Anniversary Edition
# Song Title   Time
1)    Theme From The Last Waltz [Concert Version]
2)    Up On Cripple Creek [Concert Version]
3)    Who Do You Love [Concert Version]
4)    Helpless [Concert Version]
5)    Stagefright [Concert Version]
6)    Coyote [Concert Version]
7)    Dry Your Eyes [Concert Version]
8)    It Makes No Difference [Concert Version]
9)    Such A Night [Concert Version]
10)    Night They Drove Old Dixie Down [Concert Version], The
11)    Mystery Train [Concert Version]
12)    Mannish Boy [Concert Version]
13)    Further On Up The Road [Concert Version]
1)    Shape I'm In [Concert Version], The
2)    Down South In New Orleans [Concert Version]
3)    Ophelia [Concert Version]
4)    Tura Lura Lural [That's An Irish Lullaby] [Concert Version]
5)    Caravan (Concert Rehearsal Version)
6)    Life Is A Carnival [Concert Version]
7)    Baby Let Me Follow You Down [Concert Version]
8)    I Don't Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met) [Concert Version]
9)    Forever Young [Concert Version]
10)    Baby Let Me Follow You Down (Reprise) [Concert Version]
11)    I Shall Be Released (Finale) [Concert Version]
12)    Last Waltz Suite: The Well, The
13)    Last Waltz Suite: Evangeline, The
14)    Last Waltz Suite: Out Of The Blue, The
15)    Last Waltz Suite: The Weight, The
16)    Last Waltz Suite: The Last Waltz Refrain, The
17)    Last Waltz Suite: Theme From The Last Waltz, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This 4-CD box set of THE LAST WALTZ includes the complete original album, 24 tracks of previously unreleased rehearsals, performances from the show, film, and studio demo tracks. Includes an 80-page booklet.
  • The Band: Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar, piano); Richard Manuel (vocals, dobro, keyboards, drums); Levon Helm (vocals, mandolin, drums); Rick Danko (vocals, violin, bass); Garth Hudson (accordion, soprano & tenor saxophones, horns, piano, electric piano, organ, synthesizer).
  • Additional personnel includes: Neil Young (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Joni Mitchell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dr. John (vocals, guitar, piano, conga); Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Neil Diamond, Roebuck "Pops" Staples (vocals, guitar); Paul Butterfield (vocals, harmonica); Mavis Staples, Ronnie Hawkins, Muddy Waters, Van Morrison, Bobby Charles (vocals); Stephen Stills, Ron Wood (guitar); Joe "Pinetop" Perkins (piano); Ringo Starr (drums).
  • Producers include: Robbie Robertson, Rob Fraboni, John Simon.
  • Reissue producer: Robbie Robertson.
  • Recorded at Winterland Arena, San Franciso, California; MGM, Culver City, California; Shangri La, Malibu, California; Village Recorders, Los Angeles, California in 1976. Originally released on Warner Brothers (3146). Includes liner notes by Robbie Robertson and David Fricke.
  • The Band's farewell concert was lavishly presented on Thanksgiving night, 1976 at San Francisco's Winterland Ballroom. Originally released as a three-record, 30-song set, it's been expanded to 54 songs spread over four CDs. The concert presented an overview of their entire body of work, with music from most of their albums. They're joined by a series of guests who are all either peers (Van Morrison, Neil Young) and contemporaries or mentors and wsources of inspiration (Ronnie Hawkins, Muddy Waters).
  • With the exception of Bob Dylan, all of the artists were originally heard performing only one song with accompaniment from the Band. This longer format allows for a further look at what transpired on that night. The live material is also joined by previously unissued studio recordings, including a theme that frames the work as a whole. Additional material also includes a few rehearsal takes, demos for some of the studio tracks, and 15 minutes of jamming with even more guests (Ringo Starr, Stephen Stills). This is not a traditional career overview or hits run-through; rather, it's a celebration of this important ensemble's legacy.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (4/19/02, pp.72-73) - "Time hasn't diminished The Band's uniqueness or mythic mystery..." - Rating: A

Q (May 2002, p.127) - 4 out of 5 stars - "...Ever conscious of their place in history, [The Band] went out in style....full of invention, twists and...moments of other-worldly genius..."

Mojo (Publisher) (1/03, p.73) - Ranked #3 in Mojo's "Best Box Sets & Compilations of 2002"

Mojo (Publisher) (5/02, p.117) - "...The original highlights are highlights still: Danko's heartrending solo turn on 'It Makes No Difference', big Ron's yelping 'big time, Bill, big time' turn on the Diddley-stompin' 'Who Do You Love'; the soulful Staples on the after-the-fact studio version of 'The Weight'..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Pub Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Band The Last Waltz 40th Anniversary Edition on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top