SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Bandwagonesque
# Song Title   Time
1)    Concept, The
2)    Satan
3)    December
4)    What You Do to Me
5)    I Don't Know
6)    Star Sign
7)    Metal Baby
8)    Pet Rock
9)    Sidewinder
10)    Alcoholiday
11)    Guiding Star
12)    Is This Music?
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Teenage Fanclub: Norman Blake, Gerard Love, Raymond McGinley, Brendan O'Hare.
  • Additional personnel: Joseph McAlinden (brass & string synthesizers).
  • Recorded at Amazon Studios, Liverpool, England between April 9 & May 12, 1991.
  • Personnel: Don Fleming (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Norman Blake , Raymond McGinley (vocals, guitar); Gerard Love (vocals); Paul Chisholm (guitar, background vocals); Joseph McAlinden (strings, brass, horns); Brendan O'Hare (drums); Dave Buchanan (hand claps, percussion).
  • Recording information: Amazon Studios, Liverpool, England (04/09/1991-05/12/1991).
  • Photographer: Sharon Fitzgerald.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Gerard Love; Brendan O'Hare; Norman Blake ; Raymond McGinley.
  • Teenage Fanclub emerged from a fraternal milieu centred on the Scottish town of Bellshill. A common love of pop tradition bound the quartet together and elements of their mentors abound on this collection. Neil Young and Big Star are obvious reference points, but the Fannies are not merely Byrds copyists. Dizzy melodies, long-hair guitar and unpretentiousness abound, the set's attraction ultimately residing in its cumulative, carefree charm. An impishness enhances the entire proceedings; only the churlish can resist its obvious attractions. Since this release they have been sorely taken for granted and have become an institution rather than stars. Everybody loves them but not enough to buy them.
Professional Reviews
Spin (12/91) - Highly Recommended - "..this music makes your spine shiver ...God's gift to college radio...Equal parts Neil Young, Big Star, Rolling Stones, Lindsey Buckingham, and Eddie Money..." - Ranked #1 in Spin's list of the 20 Albums Of The Year (1991) - "...this record would be hard to equal in any year. Rock music doesn't get much better than this."

Q (12/91) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...a penchant for genteel melodies and feedback-stafed electric guitars..." - One of Q Magazine's 50 best albums of 1991.

Alternative Press (7/95, p.100) - Ranked #81 in AP's list of the 'Top 99 Of '85-'95' - "...The whole record [is] a tiny little chip of greatness....suggesting[ing] a brilliant future..."

Melody Maker (12/91) - Ranked #11 in Melody Maker's list of the top 30 albums of 1991 - "...Grinding raunch plus soppy melodies equals the best album Big Star never made. Sheer ragged glory oozing honey at the core..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Bandwagonesque on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top