Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Beat the Devil's Tattoo

Album: Beat the Devil's Tattoo
# Song Title   Time
1)    Beat the Devil's Tattoo
2)    Conscience Killer
3)    Bad Blood
4)    War Machine
5)    Sweet Feeling
6)    Evol
7)    Mama Taught Me Better
8)    River Styx
9)    Toll, The
10)    Aya
11)    Shadow's Keeper
12)    Long Way Down
13)    Half-State
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Peter Hayes (vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards); Robert Levon Been (vocals, guitar, piano); Leah Shapiro (drums, percussion, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Mark Rains; Black Rebel Motorcycle Club.
  • Recording information: The Basement Studio, Philadelphia, PA; The Station House, Los Angeles, CA.
  • Photographers: Tessa Angus; Aaron Lucy.
  • Black Rebel Motorcycle Club's 2010 album, Beat the Devil's Tattoo, finds the band splitting the difference between the rootsy Americana of 2005's Howl and the return to fuzzed-out noise rock that was 2007's Baby 81. Having once again parted ways with original drummer Nick Jago, bassist Robert Levon Been and guitarist Peter Hayes seem to have found a renewed creative spark with replacement drummer Leah Shapiro. Shapiro comes to the fold with strong noise rock credentials, having been a member of the punk-psych N.Y.C.-based Dead Combo and touring with the Raveonettes. With an overall sound that seems inspired by a searing mix of old-timey blues mixed with a hypodermic blast of melodic noise, there is a driving, wild-eyed intensity to many of the tracks on Beat the Devil's Tattoo. From the opening death-ballad title track and the gospel-meets-Madchester "Conscience Killer," the stoned robot funk of "War Machine," and the blissed-out acoustic folk ballad "Sweet Feeling," BRMC are in top form. But if you're looking for gutting-jet-engine lift-off, the cosmically epic, sanguine rock anthem "Bad Blood," with its repeated chorus of "I can see it in your eyes and now it's gone" is, like the rest of Beat the Devil's Tattoo, likely to grab you by the throat and leave its mark for some time to come. ~ Matt Collar
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.69) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "On BEAT THE DEVIL'S TATTOO they keep the tempos moderate and the volume loud, pouring on layers of distorted guitars..."

Spin (p.83) - "TATTOO offers deeply committed re-creations of bleary balladry, stoned Americana, distorto-pop, and spacey trips into wah-wah oblivion..."

Billboard - "[A] collection rich in fan favorites....The band is at its best on tracks like 'Conscience Killer and 'War Machine'..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.102) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Peter Hayes's forlornly beautiful, ivory-tinkling reading of Poe's 'Annabel Lee' is simply devastating."

Paste (magazine) (p.59) - "The ballads peek out from the shadows -- bruised, but too tough to show it. Like any good biker gang, TATTOO finds home in a loud, smoky dive."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top