SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Billie Holiday Songbook

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: The Billie Holiday Songbook
# Song Title   Time
1)    Good Morning Heartache More Info... 3:30
2)    My Man More Info... 2:39
3)    Billie's Blues More Info... 3:28
4)    What A Little Moonlight Can Do More Info... 3:13
5)    Don't Explain More Info... 2:38
6)    Lady Sings The Blues More Info... 3:47
7)    Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?) More Info... 3:00
8)    God Bless The Child More Info... 4:00
9)    Fine And Mellow More Info... 3:28
10)    I Cried For You More Info... 2:30
11)    Strange Fruit More Info... 3:05
12)    Stormy Blues More Info... 3:26
13)    Trav'lin' Light More Info... 3:10
14)    I Cover The Waterfront More Info... 3:47
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Billie Holiday (vocals); Willie Smith (alto saxophone); Paul Quinichette, Coleman Hawkins, Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Charlie Shavers, Joe Newman, Roy Eldridge, Buck Clayton, Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Tony Scott (clarinet); Wynton Kelly, Oscar Peterson, Carl Drinkard, Mal Waldron, Bobby Tucker (piano); Kenny Burrell, Freddie Green, Herb Ellis, Barney Kessel (guitar); Aaron Bell, Ray Brown, Carson Smith, Milt Hinton, Red Callender (bass); Lenny McBrowne, Gus Johnson, Chico Hamilton, Ed Shaughnessy, Don Lamond (drums).
  • Producers: Norman Granz, Leonard Feather.
  • Compilation producer: Richard Seidel.
  • Recorded between July 1952 and September 1958. Includes liner notes by Gary Giddins and Richard Seidel.
  • Digitally remastered by Dennis Drake (Polygram Studios).
  • Personnel: Billie Holiday (vocals); Freddie Green, Herb Ellis, Kenny Burrell, Barney Kessel (guitar); Tony Scott (clarinet); Willie Smith (alto saxophone); Coleman Hawkins, Al Cohn, Paul Quinichette (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison , Joe Newman , Roy Eldridge, Buck Clayton, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Carl Drinkard, Mal Waldron, Oscar Peterson, Wynton Kelly, Bobby Tucker (piano); Chico Hamilton, Lenny McBrowne, Don Lamond, Gus Johnson , Ed Shaughnessy (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Dennis Drake.
  • Liner Note Authors: Gary Giddins; Richard Seidel.
  • Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (07/27/1952-09/26/1958); Los Angeles, CA (07/27/1952-09/26/1958); Wallingford, CT (07/27/1952-09/26/1958).
  • This compilation includes some of the best-known songs from Billie Holiday's repertoire, originals and standards recorded during the final decade of her career. This terribly painful and difficult period of Holiday's personal life yielded some of the most poignant and soulful jazz recordings ever. A number of them, rendered in the frayed and weary voice of the mature chanteuse, are included on the SONGBOOK.
  • While up-tempo songs like "What a Little Moonlight Can Do" suffer from Holiday's lack of energy (contrasted by Oscar Peterson's vivid piano work), "Don't Explain," arguably her best original, is darkly brooding, rich and compelling. Holiday's voice in this late period has lost its shine and the sense of hope that infused its early incarnation. But her incomparable sense of time and phrasing is intact and alive, and the all-star ensembles gracefully shadow Holiday's dreamy singing.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Billie Holiday Songbook on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top