Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Bowie at the Beeb


Product Description
Product Details


1. In The Heat Of The Morning

2. London Bye Ta Ta

3. Karma Man

4. Silly Boy Blue

5. Let Me Sleep Beside You

6. Janine

7. Amsterdam

8. God Knows I'm Good

9. The Width Of A Circle

10. Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed

11. Cygnet Committee

12. Memory Of A Free Festival

13. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud

14. Bombers

15. Looking For A Friend

16. Almost Grown

17. Kooks

18. It Aint Easy

19. The Supermen

20. Eight Line Poem

21. Hang On To Yourself

22. Ziggy Stardust

23. Queen Bitch

24. I'm Waiting For The Man

25. Five Years

26. White Light/White Heat

27. Moonage Daydream

28. Hang On To Yourself

29. Suffragette City

30. Ziggy Stardust

31. Starman

32. Space Oddity

33. Changes

34. Oh! You Pretty Things

35. Andy Warhol

36. Lady Stardust

37. Rock N Roll Suicide

Performer Notes
  • For a limited time the 2-CD set BOWIE AT THE BEEB will come with a third, bonus CD of David Bowie live at the BBC Radio Theatre.
  • Compilation producers: Nigel Reeve, Henry Wrenn-Meleck.
  • Personnel includes: David Bowie (vocals, various instruments); Mick Ronson (vocals, guitar, bass); Dana Gillespie, George Underwood, Geoffrey Alexander (vocals); John Mclaughlin, Mick Wayne, Tim Renwick (guitar); Nicky Graham (piano); Alan Hawkshaw (keyboards); Tony Visconti, Trevor Bolder (bass, background vocals); John Lodge (bass); Woody Woodmansey, John Cambridge (drums); Steve Peregrine (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Bernie Andrews, Paul Williams, Jeff Griffin, Pete Ritzema, John F. Muir.
  • Includes liner notes by Bernie Andrews and Jeff Griffin.
  • Personnel: David Bowie (vocals); Gail Ann Dorsey (vocals, guitar, bass); Mark Plati (guitar, bass); Earl Slick (guitar); Mike Garson (piano, keyboards); Emm Gryner (keyboards, background vocals); Sterling Campbell (drums); Holly Palmer (percussion, background vocals).
  • Recorded at The BBC Radio Theatre, BBC Broadcasting House, London, England on June 27, 2000.
  • Personnel: David Bowie (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Dana Gillespie, Geoffrey Alexander, George Underwood (vocals); Mark Carr Prichard, John McLaughlin, Mick Ronson, Tim Renwick , Mick Wayne (guitar); Nick Graham (piano); Alan Hawkshaw (keyboards); Herbie Flowers, John Lodge, Trevor Bolder (bass instrument); John Cambridge, Mick "Woody" Woodmansey (drums); Steve Peregrine Took, Tony Visconti (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Authors: Bernie Andrews; Jeff Griffin .
  • This compilation is a unique way to view the rapid succession of stylistic changes the mercurial David Bowie went through between the years 1968 and 1972. During that relatively brief span of time, Bowie went through more phases than most artists experience in their entire careers, and it's all catalogued on these live-in-the-studio recordings originally made for BBC broadcast. Things start off innocently enough, with a somewhat benign Bowie delivering '68-vintage baroque pop over orchestral backing. Quickly enough, the rock quotient increases, and Bowie begins delivering more barbed lyrical observations over a grittier sound.
  • Bowie's ascendancy to superstardom is represented via cuts from the ZIGGY STARDUST era; here the listener is given a front-row seat for the virtual invention of glam-rock. There are many interesting tidbits throughout, including fascinating covers of Jacques Brel and the Velvet Underground, both key Bowie influences. And that's not even mentioning the bonus disc containing a 2000 live performance that's heavy on Bowie classics.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (10/12/00, p.86) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...These discs offer a fascinating glimpse into the years when he transformed his words into a persona, Ziggy Stardust..."

Q (1/01, p.95) - Included in Q's "5 Best Re-Issues of 2000".

Q (11/00, p.123) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...We have the best of both the ZIGGY STARDUST album and HUNKY DORY, plus a brilliant, Lou Reed namechecking 'White Light/White Heat'. The songs here are rougher, liuder and often more exciting than their 'official' versions..."

CMJ (12/00, p.52) - "...Key for ZIGGY STARDUST fans curious about how he got from the London folk-rock circuit to the cosmos in 4 short years..."

Mojo (Publisher) (10/00, p.119) - "...Tracks his progress from Anthony Newley wannabe to the brink of ALADDIN SANE, offering a handy aural frieze of his surprisingly arduous climb to superstardom..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Bowie at the Beeb: The Best of the BBC Radio Sessions 68-72 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top