Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Bundle of Joy/Super Blue/The Love Connection

Album: Bundle of Joy/Super Blue/The Love Connection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Bundle of Joy
2)    Rainy Day Song
3)    Portrait of Jenny
4)    From Now On
5)    Tucson Stomp
6)    Rahsann
7)    I Don't Want to Lose You
8)    From Behind
9)    Super Blue
10)    To Her Ladyship
11)    Take It to the Ozone
1)    Gospel Truth, The
2)    Surest Things Can Change, The
3)    Theme for Kareem
4)    Love Connection, The
5)    Brigitte
6)    This Dream
7)    Little Sunflower
8)    Lazy Afternoon
9)    My Judgement Day
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • BGO's 2013 double-disc set combines three late-'70s albums from Freddie Hubbard: 1977's Bundle of Joy, 1978's Super Blue, and 1979's The Love Connection. This is roundly considered the weakest phase in Hubbard's career, as the soul-funk aspirations of CTI slowly turned into smooth jazz, but the three albums here have all their own attributes. Bundle of Joy is the smoothest of the bunch, a curious exercise in one of the great hard bop trumpeters pursuing unabashed easy listening. Perhaps this mood music is beneath his skills, but as piece of polyester nostalgia, it's pretty terrific; pulsating to a strobe light, it's tacky, funky, and fun, the sound of leisure being pursued as a passion. By all measures outside of pure nostalgia, Super Blue is a better record, retaining a veneer of slickness, but it's essentially a busy, albeit stylized, hard-bop record, one that places emphasis on instrumental interplay, not groove. The Love Connection splits the difference between the two, having more than its fair share of overblown smoothness, but despite the title track and some vocals on "Little Sunflower," this isn't a particularly funky record: it's designed seduction for late-night quite storm stations. If you have no problem with that description, chances are this BGO three-fer will be a pleasant surprise. If that seems like sacrilege, there are plenty of Blue Note Hubbard dates for you. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Bundle of Joy/Super Blue/The Love Connection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top