Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Chris Knight

Album: Chris Knight
# Song Title   Time
1)    It Ain't Easy Being Me
2)    Framed
3)    Bring the Harvest Home
4)    Something Changed
5)    House and 90 Acres
6)    Summer of '75
7)    Run from Your Memory
8)    Love and a .45
9)    Hammer Going Down, The
10)    Band Is Playing Too Slow, The
11)    River's Own, The
12)    William
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Chris Knight (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Dan Dugmore, Kenny Greenberg (acoustic & electric guitars, steel guitar); David Grissom (acoustic & electric guitars); Richard Bennett (acoustic & electric guitars, tiple, bouzouki); David Grissom (electric guitar, guitar); Russ Pahl (steel guitar); Glen Duncan (fiddle); Tammy Rogers (viola); Tim Krekel (harmonica, background vocals); Tony Harrell (accordion, Mellotron, organ); Phil Madeira (Hammond B-3 organ); Glenn Worf, Michael Rhodes (bass); Chad Cromwell (drums); Eric Darken (percussion); Christy Seamans, Kenny Meeks, Marilyn Martin (background vocals).
  • All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
  • Personnel: Chris Knight (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Kenny Greenberg (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Dan Dugmore (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar); Richard Bennett (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, tiple, bouzouki); David Grissom (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Russ Pahl (steel guitar); Glen Duncan (fiddle); Tammy Rogers (viola); Tim Krekel (harmonica); Tony Harrell (accordion, pump organ, Mellotron); Michael Rhoades, Chad Cromwell (drums); Eric Darken (percussion); Christy Seamans, Kenny Meeks, Marilyn Martin (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Joe Hayden.
  • Recording information: Eddy Creek Marina, Lake Berkley, KY; House Of Gain; Javelina Studios; Quad Studios, Nashville, TN; Treasure Isle.
  • Photographer: Mark Tucker .
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Kenny Greenberg; Phil Madeira; Buddy Miller.
  • With Chris Knight's debut album, released on MCA Nashville's sister label Decca, critics of the new country sound of the late '90s began to hold out hope that Nashville could return to the genuineness that it had been so lacking for years. That hope was rooted partly in Knight's singing, full of country-rock phrasing clearly modeled after Knight's hero, Steve Earle, but even more so in Knight's songwriting. His flair for describing the lower-middle class in Middle America, their difficulties making a living, and run-ins with the law, evokes Earle and even early Bruce Springsteen. For example, "Love and a .45," co-written with Fred Eaglesmith, describes how two lonely people on opposite sides of the law, a cop and a prostitute, find each other. One of Knight's most literate songs, "The River's Own," details the singer's father's (and ultimately, his own) union with the river that runs by the family farm. And on the album's most poignant song, Knight tells the story of "William," a boy who "grew up hard and mean," beaten by his father, only to inflict some of the same pain on his family as an adult and die in a drugstore robbery. The only problem with this album is the instrumental arrangements. Some of Nashville's top studio musicians perform, and therein lies the rub. While technically proficient, the playing never matches up to the raw energy of Knight's songs. Thus, recording for a major label was a double-edged sword. On the one hand, it gave Knight a chance to be a major force in starting a new trend in country music, but on the other, the music might have been more effective had it been recorded live for a small independent record label. ~ Brian Wahlert
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (2/6/98, p.63) - "Newcomer Knight plows the same gritty ground as Steve Earle and Townes Van Zandt on an impressive set of original story-songs. Often cinematic in his imagery and spare on instrumentation, he's best at profiling dark characters whose violence bubbles just below the surface..." - Rating: A-
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Chris Knight on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top