Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Christine and the Queens

Album: Christine and the Queens
# Song Title   Time
1)    iT
2)    Saint Claude
3)    Tilted
4)    No Harm Is Done
5)    Science Fiction
6)    Paradis Perdus
7)    Half Ladies
8)    Jonathan
9)    Narcissus Is Back
10)    Safe and Holy
11)    Night 52
12)    Here
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Lucy Wilkins, Laura Melhuish, Kate Robinson, Alison Dods, Julia Singleton, Matt Ward, Sally Herbert, Calina de la Mare (violin); Vincent Greene, Robert Spriggs, Reiad Chibah (viola); Sarah Willson, Chris Worsey (cello); Lucy Shaw (upright bass).
  • Recording information: 123 Studios, London; Les Studio Saint Germain, Paris; RAK Studios, London; Smikehouse Studios, London.
  • Photographer: D.R.
  • It took a while to introduce Christine and the Queens' self-described "freakpop" to the world. The group's debut album first arrived in 2014 as Chaleur Humaine in frontwoman Hlose Ltissier's native France, then it was issued in the United States in 2015 as Christine and the Queens, and finally as a deluxe U.K. edition of Chaleur Humaine in early 2016. The acclaim for the album -- whatever its title -- only grew with each release, and rightfully so: Christine and the Queens don't just embrace differences, they see them as beautiful. Within the album's lovely synth pop, there's strangeness and strength; "I'm doing my face with magic marker," Ltissier sings on "Tilted," a subtly irresistible track with the power of an anthem in the making. A similar independence pulses through the gorgeous "Saint Claude," which depicts the moment of walking away or committing entirely with heart-stopping beauty. As the album unfolds, Christine reveals herself as less of a disguise and more of a prism for Ltissier's distinctive outlook. She addresses her pansexuality throughout the album, subtly on songs like the aforementioned "Tilted" and more directly on "Half Ladies" and "iT," a call-and-response track with the Queens where her backing band sings "She's a man now/And there's nothing we can do." This fluidity extends to the ease with which Ltissier blends French traditions with contemporary pop, hip-hop, and R&B. She mixes all of the above on "Paradis Perdus," an interpolation of Kanye West's "Heartless" and Christophe's 1973 hit "Les Paradis Perdus," transforming them into something with its own emotive power. Elsewhere, Christine and the Queens balance the urgency of songs such as "No Harm Is Done" and "Safe and Holy" and gentler moments like the Perfume Genius duet "Jonathan" and "Night 52" with a grace reflecting Ltissier's former life as a dancer. Indeed, Christine and the Queens' emotional and musical agility only makes their heartfelt, thoughtful pop that much richer and rewarding. ~ Heather Phares
Professional Reviews
Pitchfork (Website) - "Most of the songs are built from tapestries of microbeats that have an organic, sinewy feel, unfolding with the intricate flow of a centipede's spine."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Christine and the Queens on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top