Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Chronicle of the Black Sword [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Chronicle of the Black Sword [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Song of the Swords
2)    Shade Gate
3)    Sea King, The
4)    Pulsing Cavern, The
5)    Elric the Enchanter
6)    Needle Gun
7)    Zarozinia
8)    Demise, The
9)    Sleep of a Thousand Tears
10)    Chaos Army
11)    Horn of Destiny
12)    Arioch
13)    Night of the Hawks
14)    Green Finned Demon
15)    Dream Dancers
16)    Dragons and Fables
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Hawkwind: Dave Brock (vocals, guitar, synthesizer); Harvey Bainbridge (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer); Huw Lloyd-Langton (vocals, guitar); Alan Davey (bass, background vocals); Danny Thompson (drums); Dave Charles (percussion).
  • Producers: Dave Brock, Harvey Bainbridge, Dave Charles.
  • Recorded in August and September, 1985.
  • Personnel: Dave Brock (vocals, guitar, keyboards, synthesizer); Huw Lloyd-Langton (vocals, guitar); Harvey Bainbridge (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer); Danny Thompson (drums); Dave Charles, David Charles (percussion); Alan Davey (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Mark Powell.
  • Recording information: Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, Wales.
  • Authors: Dave Brock; Michael Moorcock.
  • Hawkwind and science-fiction/fantasy author Michael Moorcock had been hovering around each other's vicinities for years before they finally got around to recording this adaptation of Moorcock's Elric novels (long a favorite on the old DAW paperback line). They seemed made to order for the project, and by and large they are; the band rocks their way through the story of Elric and the sword that becomes the basis for his survival and his doom, breaking it up with a few ethereal keyboard-dominated interludes. "Needle Gun" could have been a single by the original band had it been released a few years earlier. They aren't quite as melodic here in their writing, singing, or playing as they might have been, say, a decade earlier, and some of the songs are a bit predictable, but overall this is a fairly successful contribution to rock's rarefied body of literary adaptations, well suited to its subject. The lineup here is Brock (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Bainbridge (keyboards, vocals), Langton (lead guitar, vocals), Alan Davey (bass), Danny Thompson (drums), and Dave Charles (percussion). ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Chronicle of the Black Sword [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top