Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Circuital [Digipak]

Album: Circuital [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Victory Dance
2)    Circuital
3)    Day Is Coming, The
4)    Wonderful (The Way I Feel)
5)    Outta My System
6)    Holdin' on to Black Metal
7)    First Light
8)    You Wanna Freak Out
9)    Slow Slow Tune
10)    Movin' Away
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ben Sollee, Jeremy Kittel (strings); Chris Gregg, Leif Shires, Oscar W. Herstrom, Carl Broemel (horns).
  • Additional personnel: Cheyenne Mize, Christy O'Connell, Amber Estes, Rebecca Dennison, Suki Anderson, Natalie Felker, Carly Johnson, Bootsie Anne, Black Metal Girls, Sarah Teeple.
  • Audio Mixers: Jim James; Tucker Martine.
  • Recording information: Heaven; Removador Fun Ranch; The Fun Home.
  • Photographers: Daniel Martin Moore; Eric Mayers; Roderick Trestrail; Tucker Martine; Danny Clinch.
  • Although recorded after a brief hiatus, during which Carl Broemel released a solo album and Jim James co-formed Monsters of Folk, Circuital feels like a close cousin to Evil Urges and Z, retaining both albums' eclectic pop sound while presenting a more concise track list than its predecessors. The band worked on the album in Kentucky, turning a local church's gymnasium into a makeshift studio and capturing the initial tracks live on 24-track tape.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.70) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "'Black Metal' is a stoned soul picnic in the heavy-metal parking lot, a brilliant addition to the canon of awesome songs about the power of the devil's noise."

Rolling Stone (p.69) - Ranked #11 in Rolling Stone's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "CIRCUITAL is their proggiest set yet, and also their most soulful..."

Spin (p.102) - "James sounds remarkably like Roger Daltrey at times, singing with an appealing, yearning catch in his voice."

Entertainment Weekly (p.102) - Ranked #8 in Entertainment Weekly's 'The Top 10 Albums Of 2011' -- "What the band ends up with is an adventurous classic-rock opus that's already a classic itself."

Billboard (p.52) - "Throughout the album we find Bacharach-esque backing vocals, a lovely melody in the acoustic 'Wonderful (The Way I Feel)' and the set's most radio-ready track,' 'Holdin' On to Black Metal'....My Morning Jacket is one of America's most vital bands..."

Uncut (magazine) (p.32) - Ranked #35 in Uncut's '50 Best Albums Of 2011' -- "[R]ootsy and adventurous."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Circuital [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top