Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Colours [Box]

Album: Colours [Box]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Touch
2)    Sand-Glass
3)    Yellow Fields
4)    Left Lane
1)    Seriously Deep
2)    Silent Feet
3)    Eyes That Can See in the Dark
1)    Last Stage of a Long Journey, The
2)    Bali
3)    Dark Spell, A
4)    Little Movements
5)    'No Trees?' He Said
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jon Christensen (drums); Rainer Bruninghaus (piano, keyboards); Charlie Mariano (flute, soprano saxophone).
  • Liner Note Author: Michael Tucker .
  • Recording information: Tonstudio Bauer, Ludwigsburg (1975-09-??&1977-11-??&1980-).
  • Photographers: Roberto Masotti; W. Patrick Hinely; Gisela Plefka; G‚rard Ansellem.
  • This three-album retrospective of bassist Eberhard Weber's group, Colours, recorded between 1975 and 1980, is striking musically, historically, culturally, and creatively. As American and British jazz musicians were employing electric instruments to create edgier, funkier, and more stridently knotty music, many Northern Europeans were exploring an entirely different sonic universe: creating another pathway in jazz. Weber's work would help to define the ECM imprint's sound. Weber founded Colours in 1974 with saxophonist and multi-instrumentalist Charlie Mariano, keyboardist Rainer Bruninghaus, and drummer Jon Christensen -- to be replaced in by John Marshall in 1977. Its 1975 debut, Yellow Fields, put painterly touches into a sonic kaleidescope that explored tonal and harmonic realms with acute compositional and improvisational attention to the space that surrounded jazz. No matter how complex -- as on "Sand-Glass" -- it remains crystalline, warm, and engaging. 1977's Silent Feet is the group's greatest moment. They gelled on these three Weber-composed pieces in a manner that seems truly telepathic. Compositions like "Seriously Deep" are harmonically labyrinthine, but they engage improvisation within each tune's architectural framework. Weber's bass solo is among the most beautiful he ever recorded; Bruninghaus' Rhodes work is outstanding as well, revelatory actually. Little Movements, issued in 1980, was the beginning of Weber's deep fascination with classical composition. Its first track, "The Last Stage of a Long Journey," was prophetic in that it would be the group's final album. The pieces here -- with the exception of Bruninghaus' masterpiece "Bali," which actually touches on more conventionally styled fusion and features Mariano's soprano saxophone skills magnificently -- are written with microscopic attention to time, harmonics, and the textural relationships between sounds; elements of folk song are added to the mix and melody plays a greater role than improvisation, making for a truly fascinating listen. While not as balanced as its predecessors, it is nonetheless a compelling listen. These three discs have been gorgeously remastered and are bundled in a box with a beautiful booklet containing photos and an exhaustive historical and biographical essay by Michael Tucker. Essential. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
JazzTimes (p.71) - "[T]he ingenuity and vitality that went into Weber's short-lived, sporadic project remain as apparent today as during its lifetime."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Colours [Box] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top