Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Come on Over

Album: Come on Over
# Song Title   Time
1)    Jolene Album Version More Info... 3:05
2)    Pony Ride Album Version More Info... 4:01
3)    Come On Over Single Version More Info... 3:42
4)    It'll Be Me Album Version More Info... 3:31
5)    Greensleeves Album Version More Info... 3:43
6)    Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain Album Version More Info... 2:26
7)    Don't Throw It All Away Album Version More Info... 2:57
8)    Who Are You Now ? Album Version More Info... 3:08
9)    Smile For Me Album Version More Info... 3:42
10)    Small Talk And Pride Album Version More Info... 3:55
11)    Wrap Me In Your Arms Album Version More Info... 3:07
12)    The Long And Winding Road Album Version More Info... 4:28
Product Details


1. Jolene

2. Pony Ride

3. Come On Over

4. It'll Be Me

5. Greensleeves

6. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain

7. Don't Throw It All Away

8. Who Are You Now

9. Smile For Me

10. Small Talk And Pride

11. Wrap Me In Your Arms

12. The Long And Winding Road

Performer Notes
  • Adapter: Olivia Newton-John.
  • Personnel: Olivia Newton-John (vocals); John Farrar (guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Alan Parker (guitar); B.J. Cole (steel guitar); Steve Grey, Graham Todd (keyboards); Brian Bennett (drums); Vicki Brown, Pat Farrar, Clare Torry (background vocals).
  • Recording information: England.
  • Arranger: Olivia Newton-John.
  • Olivia Newton John's Come on Over is country tunes, folk ballads, and more. Her own arrangement and adaptation of the traditional "Greensleeves" is exquisite, haunting, and shows Newton-John is more than just a pretty face. Her hit catalog was already nine songs deep, and "Come on Over" was the tenth of close to 30 visits to the Top 40 in a 14-year period. Fred Rose's "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain" and a cover of Dolly Parton's classic "Jolene" open and shut side one with the country side of things while the Diane Berglund/Jim Phillips composition "Pony Ride" is more of a piano ballad, nicely bridging the Western music with the song which would go to the top of the adult contemporary charts, the brilliant title track written by Barry Gibb and Robin Gibb of the Bee Gees. "Come on Over" came right on the heels of one of the Bee Gees' most brilliant compositions, "Fanny (Be Tender With My Love)," charting just three months prior to "Come on Over." What this record becomes is a textbook on the separation between what is good and what is great. The album is quality stuff through and through, but even a good reading of a Beatles classic like "The Long and Winding Road" pales next to the majesty of John Farrar's simple production and Olivia's direct and heart-wrenching vocal on the title track. It is so moving that every other performance becomes a supporting act to the main attraction. It is also the only song that charted on the Top 40 from this consistent and entertaining project. "It'll Be Me" is the next best thing to "Come on Over," a Hank Marvin/John Farrar composition showing Newton-John's relationship to Cliff Richard's Shadows, drummer Brian Bennett providing the backbeat. Cliff Richard had his biggest U.S. success up to this point in time with "Devil Woman" as this record was charting simultaneously. It would be four years until Olivia and Cliff's duet "Suddenly," from the Xanadu soundtrack, made its splash. "Don't Throw It All Away" and "Who Are You Now?" are beautiful middle of the road performances here, and Farrar's production is really understated and sadly underrated. His grasp of the pop format is major league and worthy of note. Farrar's "Small Talk and Pride" and Harlan Collins' "Wrap Me in Your Arms" are elegant and perfect in their construction. Olivia Newton-John was a superstar before Mariah Carey and Celine Dion, and as beautiful as those pop divas can sing, it is John Farrar's understanding of his artist which makes these albums by Olivia so heartfelt and magical. "Come on Over" is a tremendous song on a very good album. More than just the Bee Gees meets the Shadows featuring Olivia Newton-John, Come on Over is a true pop classic. ~ Joe Viglione
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Come on Over on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top