SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Complete Ella In Berlin

Album: The Complete Ella In Berlin: Mack The Knife
# Song Title   Time
1)    Setting Up The Stage: Tuning Up; Granz And Fitzgerald Talking More Info... 0:19
2)    That Old Black Magic More Info... 3:51
3)    Love Is Here To Stay More Info... 3:12
4)    Gone With The Wind More Info... 2:25
5)    Misty More Info... 2:38
6)    Applause And Fanfare Interlude More Info... 0:18
7)    The Lady Is A Tramp More Info... 2:40
8)    Fanfare And Announcement More Info... 0:28
9)    The Man I Love More Info... 3:40
10)    Love For Sale More Info... 3:00
11)    Just One Of Those Things More Info... 3:53
12)    Summertime More Info... 2:51
13)    Too Darn Hot More Info... 3:17
14)    Applause And Fanfare Interlude Live (1960/Berlin) More Info... 0:24
15)    Lorelei More Info... 3:28
16)    Mack The Knife More Info... 4:39
17)    Fanfare And Announcement Live (1960/Berlin) More Info... 0:24
18)    How High The Moon More Info... 6:58
19)    Applause And Closing Fanfare More Info... 1:06
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Paul Smith (piano); Jim Hall (guitar); Wilfred Middlebrooks (bass); Gus Johnson (drums).
  • Reissue producer: Phil Schaap.
  • Recorded live at Deutschlandhallen, West Berlin, West Germany on February 13, 1960. Includes liner notes by Dan Morgenstern.
  • The reissue of THE COMPLETE ELLA IN BERLIN... contains 4 tracks not included on the original release: "That Old Black Magic," "Our Love Is Here To Stay," "Love For Sale," and "Just One Of Thoses Things."
  • Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Jim Hall, Barney Kessel (guitar); Paul Smith (piano); Gus Johnson , Alvin Stoller (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Phil Schaap.
  • Liner Note Author: Dan Morgenstern.
  • Recording information: Deutschlandhalle, West Berlin, Germany (02/13/1960).
  • Director: Nicky Davis.
  • Photographer: Jay Thompson.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Suzanne Bender; Peter Pullman.
  • Ella Fitzgerald was at the peak of her form during her 1960 tour of Europe. Her Berlin concert is most remembered for her hilariously inventive version of "Mack the Knife," during which she forgot the words and substituted ones of her own that somehow fit, amazing herself in the process. With fine support from her quartet -- pianist Paul Smith, guitarist Jim Hall, bassist Wilfred Middlebrooks, drummer Gus Johnson -- Fitzgerald is brilliant throughout the well-rounded set, with highlights including "Misty" (a version very different from Sarah Vaughan's), "The Lady Is a Tramp," "Too Darn Hot," and a scat-filled "How High the Moon." This is essential music. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Complete Ella In Berlin: Mack The Knife on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top