SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

The Complete Stiff Recordings 1980-1981

Album: The Complete Stiff Recordings 1980-1981
# Song Title   Time
1)    Second Choice
2)    Playing Bogart
3)    Foolish Pride
4)    Nice Girls
5)    Turning Up the Heat
6)    Romance
7)    Hurt, The
8)    Girls Are Always Right
9)    Honolulu
10)    (Get You Off) The Hook
11)    Yesterday's Love
12)    Nice Girls [B-Side Version]
13)    No Idea
14)    Growing Up
15)    Turning Up the Heat [Remix] - (remix)
16)    Hurt [Demo], The
1)    Trouble with Love
2)    Open Fire
3)    As Lovers Do
4)    Walking in Chains
5)    Dimming of the Day
6)    Another Heartache
7)    To Be a King
8)    Power Cut
9)    Eastern Promise
10)    Sun Never Sets, The
11)    She'll Belong to Me
12)    Wheels in Motion [Final Studio Session]
13)    Snapshot [Final Studio Session]
14)    Follow That Car [Final Studio Session]
1)    Hurt, The
2)    Bible Belt
3)    Second Choice
4)    Foolish Pride
5)    Nice Girls
6)    Yesterday's Love
7)    Hook, The
8)    Name of the Game, The
9)    Girls Are Always Right
10)    Follow That Car
11)    Growing Up
12)    Turning Up the Heat
13)    Working on the Night Shift
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Remasterer: Simon Murphy .
  • Recording information: Battery Studio (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); Roundhouse Studios, London (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); The Venue, London (04/20/1981-05/16/1981); Battery Studio (05/31/1980); Pennine Sound Studios, Oldham (05/31/1980); Roundhouse Studios, London (05/31/1980); The Venue, London (05/31/1980).
  • Photographer: Panny Charrington.
  • Any Trouble belonged to the last wave of great Stiff acts -- the wave that arrived in the early '80s and were somewhat obscured by the success of Madness. Any Trouble sounded nothing like Madness. Led by Clive Gregson, they did indeed sound a bit like Elvis Costello, like so many bespectacled nerdy guys with guitars did in 1980 and 1981. That Costello comparison may have haunted Gregson for a while, but Any Trouble's records for Stiff -- 1980's Where Are All the Nice Girls?, 1981's Wheels in Motion, plus the promotional concert album Live at the Venue -- are strong, New Wave guitar pop in their own right: superlative pop with a slight ska beat that's irresistible thanks to its hooks and clever lyrics. This triple-disc set has those three records (the live set has been difficult to find, only seeing official release on Germany's Line in 1989), plus bonus tracks, making this a definitive portrait of the band, one that supplants all the previous worthy contenders. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » New Wave
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Complete Stiff Recordings 1980-1981 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top