Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
The Complete Trio Collection

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Country & Western » Progressive Countr

The Complete Trio Collection

Artist: Dolly Parton/Emmylou Harris/Trio/Linda Ronstadt

Elsewhere $55.49 $29.97   Save $25.52 (46%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Rhino (Label)
Album: The Complete Trio Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Pain of Loving You, The
2)    Making Plans
3)    To Know Him Is to Love Him
4)    Hobo's Meditation
5)    Wildflowers
6)    Telling Me Lies
7)    My Dear Companion
8)    Those Memories of You
9)    I've Had Enough
10)    Rosewood Casket
11)    Farther Along
1)    Lover's Return
2)    High Sierra
3)    Do I Ever Cross Your Mind
4)    After the Gold Rush
5)    Blue Train, The
6)    I Feel the Blues Movin' In
7)    You'll Never Be the Sun
8)    He Rode All the Way to Texas
9)    Feels Like Home
10)    When We're Gone, Long Gone
1)    Wildflowers - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
2)    Waltz Across Texas Tonight - (previously unreleased)
3)    Lover's Return [Alternate Mix] - (mix, remix, previously unreleased, alternate take)
4)    Softly and Tenderly [Unreleased 1994] - (previously unreleased)
5)    Pleasant as May - (previously unreleased)
6)    My Dear Companion - (alternate take)
7)    My Blue Tears - (previously unreleased)
8)    Making Plans - (alternate take)
9)    I've Had Enough - (mix, remix, alternate take)
10)    Grey Funnel Line - (previously unreleased)
11)    You Don't Knock - (previously unreleased)
12)    Where Will the Words Come From - (previously unreleased)
13)    Do I Ever Cross Your Mind [Dolly Lead, Alternate Take 1994] - (alternate take)
14)    Are You Tired of Me - (previously unreleased)
15)    Even Cowgirls Get the Blues
16)    Mr. Sandman
17)    Handful of Dust - (previously unreleased)
18)    Calling My Children Home [Unreleased Acapella Version 1986] - (previously unreleased)
19)    In a Deep Sleep - (previously unreleased)
20)    Farther Along - (mix)

'The Complete Trio Collection' includes two classic albums, plus 20 previously unreleased tracks.

Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: John Boylan.
  • Photographer: Robert Blakeman.
  • Talking about the first time she harmonized with Emmylou Harris and Linda Ronstadt in 1975, Dolly Parton said, "We all got to singin' and it was absolutely incredible. It gives me chills, even now." Given Parton's remarkable life and career, one would imagine it would take a lot to prompt that reaction, but there's no false modesty in Dolly's words. Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt were all splendid vocalists on their own, but they'd also shown a talent for collaborating with others throughout their careers. And when the like-minded women decided to make an album together, they created something rare, a collaboration between three major stars that never smacks of ego. Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt brought out the best in one another on their brilliant 1987 album, Trio, with the group harmonies sounding even more glorious than their lead vocals. (Trio also found Parton and Ronstadt working with better and more flattering material than they'd had on their solo albums in quite a while.) Trio was enough of a success that the singers carved out time in their busy schedules to make another album together, 1999's Trio II, with similarly impressive results. Ronstadt's health prevents her from making another Trio album in the 21st century, but Rhino Records have given us the next best thing with The Complete Trio Collection. This three-disc set brings together Trio and Trio II in full with a bonus disc of 20 outtakes and alternate versions recorded during the sessions for the original albums. Both Trio and Trio II have aged quite well, especially the first album with its emphasis on acoustic, bluegrass-influenced arrangements that blend well with three-part harmonies. (As Harris quips in the liner notes, they were playing Americana music before it had a name.) And if disc three often covers material that appears elsewhere in the set, Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt tried enough different approaches to these songs that the variants still sound fresh, and the performances are a knockout throughout. At the end of an unreleased take of "You Don't Knock," Harris quietly says, "That one felt real good," and like Dolly, she speaks the truth. For fans of the original Trio albums, buying The Complete Trio Collection to get the disc of unreleased takes might seem a bit excessive, but for anyone with a taste for great country or folk singing who has never heard Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt's work together, this set is nothing less than essential. ~ Mark Deming

Producer:James Austin (Compilation)
Format:CD (0 Disc)
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:9 September, 2016
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Anonymous on
Excellent listening from beginning to end. As good as the original two CDs are, the "left-overs" CD is an absolute gem.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Complete Trio Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.