Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Counterparts [Remaster]

Album: Counterparts [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Animate
2)    Stick It Out
3)    Cut to the Chase
4)    Nobody's Hero
5)    Between Sun & Moon
6)    Alien Shore
7)    Speed of Love, The
8)    Double Agent
9)    Leave That Thing Alone
10)    Cold Fire
11)    Everyday Glory
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Rush: Geddy Lee (vocals, bass, synthesizer); Alex Lifeson (acoustic & electric guitars); Neil Peart (drums, electronic percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Michael Kamen (conductor); John Webster (keyboards).
  • Principally recorded at McClear Pathe, Toronto, Canada from April to June 1993.
  • "Leave That Thing Alone" was nominated for a 1995 Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance.
  • Rush: Geddy Lee (vocals, synthesizer, bass guitar); Alex Lifeson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Neil Peart (drums, cymbals, electronic percussion).
  • Reuniting with POWER WINDOWS/HOLD YOUR FIRE producer Peter Collins, Rush released their fifteenth studio album (and nineteenth overall). During its recording, guitarist Alex Lifeson wanted the album to be more hard rock-oriented, while bassist Geddy Lee was content with their recent excursions in melodic pop. Lifeson must have won the battle, because COUNTERPARTS is a harder-rocking affair than Rush's previous several albums. It's also the strongest and most consistent set of songs the band had composed in a while, with a grittier feel (an element sorely missed by fans of the band's 1970s work).
  • COUNTERPARTS contains at least one track that deals with a topical issue (as in 1989's anti-suicide "The Pass," etc.)--"Nobody's Hero" is Rush's analysis of the AIDS situation. But not all of the tracks were conceived as lyrical epics; the opening "Animate" and "Stick It Out" delight in the strength of the band's re-discovered hard rock chops. And while the sheer force of "Cut To the Chase" serves as the track's catalyst, the band's pop sensibilities come back into play on the album's closer, "Everyday Glory." COUNTERPARTS is Rush's greatest work of the '90s.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (10/29/93, p.74) - "...COUNTERPARTS is [Rush's] leanest, tightest effort in ages..." - Rating: B-

Q (12/93, p.122) - 3 Stars - Good - "...There's enough virtually great stuff [on COUNTERPARTS] to turn that sneer into a low whistle of praise..."
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Counterparts [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top