SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Court Yard Hounds [Digipak]

Album: Court Yard Hounds [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Skyline
2)    Coast, The
3)    Delight (Something New Under the Sun)
4)    See You in the Spring - (featuring Jakob Dylan)
5)    Ain't No Son
6)    Fairytale
7)    I Miss You
8)    Gracefully
9)    April's Love
10)    Then Again
11)    It Didn't Make a Sound
12)    Fear of Wasted Time
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Emily Robison (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, resonator guitar, dobro, banjo, pump organ); Audley Freed (acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar); Martin Strayer (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano); Lloyd Maines (steel guitar, dobro, mandolin); Greg Leisz (steel guitar); Jerry Holmes (autoharp); Martie Maguire (mandolin, fiddle, viola); Brian Standefer (cello); Tom Hale (French horn); Mike Finnigan (piano); Glen Fukanaga (acoustic bass); Pat Manske, Don Heffington (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Jim Scott .
  • Recording information: HEK Studio, Austin, TX; Plyrz Studio, Valencia, CA.
  • Photographer: Frank Ockenfels.
  • With Natalie Maines uninterested in recording a new Dixie Chicks album nearly five years after the last, sisters Emily Robison and Martie Maguire decided to abandon her as a temporary measure: they formed the side project Court Yard Hounds, releasing an eponymous album in May of 2010. Co-produced by Jim Scott, who mixed Taking the Long Way, it sounds like the Dixie Chicks minus Natalie: softer, sweeter, lacking a sense of surprise, but not unpleasantly so. If anything, there may be a touch too much pleasantness in the Court Yard Hounds, with the record often gently swaying to acoustic instrumentation and relaxing on its smooth surfaces. When guitars are cranked up, as they are on "Ain't No Son," Robison is almost buried underneath their steady thump, which isn't the fault of the production: she's too sweet a presence to cut through thick production. In other words, she lacks Maines' feistiness, something integral to the Dixie Chicks' crossover, but she's a consummate pro, possessing exceptional taste, sturdy songwriting skills, and the status to hire the very best studio musicians, not to mention having Jakob Dylan drop in for a duet on "See You in the Spring." Perhaps the results are predictable, but they are satisfying, and it's better to have new music from this duo than none at all. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.66) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Robison, who wrote most of the songs, has a way with a hook -- and those harmonies make even the weepiest weepers go down smooth."

Entertainment Weekly (p.75) - "Quiet cuts like 'Skyline' emphasize their down-home vocals....'The Coast' is sunny pop..." -- Grade: B

Uncut (p.79) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he Chicks' country influences are replaced by crisp, Aimee Mann-style pop, and occasional wafts of dirty Southern rock."

Billboard (p.32) - "Robison and Maguire prove capable of crafting galloping, catchy choruses for such songs as 'The Coast,' 'Ain't No Son,' 'It Didn't Make a Sound' and 'I Miss You.'"

Paste (magazine) (p.85) - "[T]he album reaches a poignant destination in the closer 'Fear of Wasted Time,' an ode to the joys and rewards of mother- and sisterhood."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top