Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Cow Palace 1986

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock

Cow Palace 1986

Artist: Neil Young

Elsewhere $32.41 $19.95   Save $12.46 (38%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Left Field Media
Album: Cow Palace 1986
# Song Title   Time
1)    Introduction
2)    Mr. Soul
3)    When You Dance, I Can Really Love
4)    Down by the River
5)    Too Lonely
6)    Neil's Mom Calls
7)    Heart of Gold
8)    After the Goldrush
9)    Inca Queen
10)    Drive Back
11)    Opera Star
12)    Sam Kinison Calls
13)    Cortez the Killer
1)    Sample and Hold
2)    Computer Age
3)    Violent Side
4)    Mideast Vacation
5)    Long Walk Home
6)    Needle and the Damage Done, The
7)    When Your Lonely Heart Breaks
8)    Around the World
9)    Powderfinger
10)    Like a Hurricane
11)    Hey Hey, My My
12)    Prisioners of Rock `n' Roll

Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Cow Palace, Brisbane, California (11/21/1986).
  • Recorded in San Francisco toward the end of his much-maligned mid-'80s Geffen period, Cow Palace 1986 shows that Neil Young was still a force to be reckoned with on the stage, if not in the studio. A bootleg of the final date of his Live in a Rusted Out Garage tour, this 25-track collection features the whole two-hour spectacle in all its glory, alongside a few less illustrious moments (the "comedy" skit "Neil's Mom Calls" and controversial standup Sam Kinison's expletive rant feel entirely out of place). Despite the obstacles of the rather rowdy sell-out crowd and the KLOS FM-recorded quality, the iconic Canadian, alongside his regular backing band Crazy Horse, sounds in fine form, whether it's rattling through the Rolling Stones pastiche "Mr. Soul" and the widely quoted "Hey Hey, My My," showcasing his harmonica skills on signature hits "Heart of Gold" and "After the Goldrush," or venturing into prog territory on the 12-minute live staple "Like a Hurricane." The set list wouldn't be many concertgoers' ideal choice, with seven performances of tracks from his then forthcoming 1987 effort, Life (the lowest-selling album of his career) including the politically charged "Mideast Vacation," the record company-baiting "Prisoners of Rock `n' Roll," and the acoustic balladry of "Long Walk Home." But with material spanning from 1969's Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere ("Down by the River") right up to 1986's Landing on Water ("Violent Side"), Cow Palace 1986 is still a surprisingly listenable bootleg which combines familiar fan favorites with a couple of underrated classics worth re-investigating. ~ Jon O'Brien

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Live
Release Date:13 February, 2012
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Cow Palace 1986 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.