SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The Crimson Idol

Album: The Crimson Idol
# Song Title   Time
1)    Titanic Overture, The
2)    Invisible Boy, The
3)    Arena of Pleasure
4)    Chainsaw Charlie (Murders in the New Morgue)
5)    Gypsy Meets the Boy, The
6)    Doctor Rockter
7)    I Am One
8)    Idol, The
9)    Hold On to My Heart
10)    Great Misconceptions of Me, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The first disc of this 1998 reissue is the original album plus one bonus track; the second disc is a collection of 12 live and studio recordings originally intended to be released alongside disc 1.
  • W.A.S.P.: Blackie Lawless (vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards); Bob Kulick (guitar); Stet Howland, Frankie Banali (drums).
  • Recorded at Ft. Apache Recording Studio, Hollywood, California, between July 1990 and February 1992. Includes liner notes by Blackie Lawless.
  • Personnel: Blackie Lawless (vocals, keyboards, bass guitar); Bob Kulick (guitar); Frankie Banali, Stet Howland (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Mikey Davis.
  • Liner Note Author: Blackie Lawless.
  • Recording information: Fort Apache Recording Studio, Hollywood, CA.
  • Photographer: Gene Kirkland.
  • Arranger: Blackie Lawless.
  • Between 1990-1992, little was heard from one of the 1980s' most theatrical metal bands, W.A.S.P. Many assumed they'd broken up, especially when it became publicly known that the entire band had split from leader Blackie Lawless (the most surprising departure being longtime guitarist Chris Holmes). But the truth of the matter was that Lawless was hard at work the entire time, composing an epic concept album, 1993's The Crimson Idol, which told the tale of a tormented rock star, Jonathan. Lawless handled rhythm guitar, bass, vocal, and keyboard duties himself, and renowned studio musician Bob Kulick filled in Holmes' vacated position, while a pair of drummers were used (including the drummer on The Headless Children, Frankie Banali). The songs weren't a radical departure stylistically for W.A.S.P., and since no original members were left, The Crimson Idol is essentially a Blackie Lawless solo album. The over 74-minute album contained such hard-hitting highlights as "The Invisible Boy," "Chainsaw Charlie (Murders in the New Morgue)," and "I Am One." Unfortunately, The Crimson Idol sunk from sight upon release (keep in mind, this was the era of "grunge") but, interestingly, marked eventual Korn/Limp Bizkit producer Ross Robinson's first studio credit, as assistant engineer. [The 1998 CD reissue was expanded to a double-disc set, the second disc comprised of 12 b-sides (!). Included was a cover of Led Zeppelin's "When the Levee Breaks," the studio outtakes "Phantoms in the Mirror" and "The Eulogy," plus many acoustic renditions ("The Idol") and live tracks ("Chainsaw Charlie," "Wild Child," "The Real Me").] ~ Greg Prato
Professional Reviews
Q (7/92, p.100) - 2 Stars - Average - "...In short, crap..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Crimson Idol on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top