Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Crocodiles [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

Album: Crocodiles [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Going Up
2)    Stars Are Stars
3)    Pride
4)    Monkeys
5)    Crocodiles
6)    Rescue
7)    Villiers Terrace
8)    Pictures on My Wall
9)    All That Jazz
10)    Happy Death Men
11)    Do It Clean
12)    Read It in Books
13)    Simple Stuff
14)    Villiers Terrace - (previously unreleased, early version)
15)    Pride - (previously unreleased, early version)
16)    Simple Stuff - (previously unreleased, early version)
17)    Crocodiles - (live)
18)    Zimbo - (live)
19)    All That Jazz - (live)
20)    Over the Wall - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Echo & The Bunnymen: Ian McCulloch (vocals, guitar); Will Sergeant (guitar); Les Pattinson (bass); Pete De Freitas (drums).
  • Additional personnel: David Balfe (keyboards).
  • Recorded at Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, England. Originally released on Sire (6096). Includes liner notes by Max Bell.
  • Personnel: Ian McCulloch (vocals, guitar); Will Sergeant (guitar); David Balfe (keyboards); Pete de Freitas (drums).
  • Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
  • Liner Note Author: Max Bell.
  • Recording information: Cargo Studios, Rochdale; Eden; Pavillion Gardens, Buxton UK; Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, Wales.
  • Photographers: Roy Tee; Harry Goodwin.
  • Emerging from Liverpool, England in 1980, Echo and the Bunnymen were hailed as the vanguard of a new psychedelic-rock movement. While vocalist Ian McCulloch's cryptic lyrics and Will Sergeant's colorful guitar arrangements do evoke the dark, brooding intensity of '60s groups like the Doors, Echo and the Bunnymen owed more to English post-punk than '60s rock. Featuring songs that range from the supercharged three-chord garage rock of "Do It Clean" and the crashing album opener, "Going Up," to the hazy neo-psychedelia of "Villiers Terrace" and "Pictures on My Wall," CROCODILES is a remarkably good debut, one that established Echo and the Bunnymen as one of most creative and charismatic English rock bands of the '80s. The American edition of CROCODILES also boasts the single "Rescue," a dramatic, melodic track that layers McCulloch's gritty rhythm guitar over Sergeant's chiming lead and producer David Balfe's subtle keyboard work to create one of the definitive U.K. singles of the post punk era. While Echo and the Bunnymen would later become modern-rock icons, CROCODILES captures them in all their raw, ragged glory, trying to emulate the work of their heroes David Bowie and the Velvet Underground but instead creating music of startling originality.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (3/5/04, p.68) - "While lead moper Ian McCulloch channels Jim Morrison on morphine, the rest of the quartet cranks out spiky post-punk riffs sharp enough to draw blood." - Rating: A-

Q (8/02, p.71) - "The first post-punk psychedelic album. CROCODILES is all lysergic blots of guitar and pulsating keyboards..."

NME (Magazine) (9/25/93, p.19) - Ranked #28 in NME's list of The 50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Crocodiles [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top