Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Crossing Muddy Waters [Digipak]

Album: Crossing Muddy Waters [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Lincoln Town
2)    Crossing Muddy Waters
3)    What Do We Do Now?
4)    Only the Song Survives
5)    Lift Up Every Stone
6)    Take It Down
7)    Gone
8)    Take It Back
9)    Mr. Stanley
10)    God's Golden Eyes
11)    Before I Go
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: John Hiatt (vocals, acoustic guitar, National resaphonic guitar, harmonium); David Immergluck (acoustic, electric, 12-string & slide guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Davey Faragher (bass, percussion, background vocals).
  • Recorded from April 23-26, 2000.
  • CROSSING MUDDY WATERS was nominated for the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album.
  • Personnel: John Hiatt (vocals, acoustic 6-string guitar, harmonium); David Immerglck (acoustic 12-string guitar, electric slide guitar, mandolin, electric mandolin); Davey Faragher (tambourine).
  • Audio Mixer: Justin Niebank.
  • Recording information: Hounds Ear (04/23/2000-04/26/2000).
  • Photographer: Michael Wilson .
  • Hearing this stripped-down effort from songwriter extraordinaire John Hiatt, it's hard to imagine why he bothered with all the production on his previous recordings. The format is a simple one--Hiatt accompanied by a bassist and mandolinist/guitarist--and it serves the songs well. Not only do Hiatt's smart, but unpretentious lyrics get maximum exposure, but he leans in toward the concept as well, accentuating the country blues element of his sound so as to benefit further from the earthy setting.
  • There's so much of what sounds like post-divorce material here that one can't help but think of BLOOD ON THE TRACKS-era Dylan. In fact, if circa-2000 Dylan released an album with these songs, it would be hailed as a masterpiece a la TIME OUT OF MIND. Unlike the latter, though, CROSSING MUDDY WATERS doesn't just leave the listener in an emotional wilderness. This album is ultimately the sound of Hiatt trying to discover a new life amid the wreckage and a way to move on. It's this glimmer of hope that makes MUDDY WATERS a vital, well-balanced album.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (12/29/00, p.146) - Ranked #2 in EW's Top 3 Country Albums of 2000 - "...He creates a deeply affecting meditation on earthly suffering and spiritual redemption."

Q (11/00, p.107) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...These songs snap at the outer edges of country, blues and folk, their emotional turmoil leavened by moments of bone dry humor..."

CMJ (9/4/00, p.31) - "...One of his best albums..."

Down Beat (3/01, p.73) - 4 out of 5 - "...Jugband ebullience, folk-like reflection, Cajunesque vocal whoops, gospel-informed soul and a honky-tonking slide-and-thump..."

Mojo (Publisher) (11/00, p.101) - "...Guaranteed entertainment....as brash as Soho on a hot day, confident and able to blues-howl in best rootsy tradition..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Crossing Muddy Waters [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top