Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Cry [Recall] [Box]

Album: Cry [Recall] [Box]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Tell the Lady I Said Goodbye
2)    Whiskey and Gin
3)    She Didn't Say Nothin' at All
4)    Give Me Time
5)    Cry
6)    Little White Cloud That Cried, The
7)    (Here I Am) Brokenhearted
8)    Paths of Paradise
9)    All of Me
10)    Please, Mr. Sun
11)    Mountains in the Moonlight
12)    Don't Blame Me
13)    Coffee and Cigarettes
14)    Walking My Baby Back Home
15)    Don't Take Your Love from Me
16)    Sinner Am I, A
17)    Faith Can Move Mountains
18)    Love Me (Baby Can't You Love Me)
1)    Ma Says, Pa Says
2)    Full Time Job, A
3)    Gee, But I'm Lonesome
4)    I'm Gonna Walk and Talk with My Lord
5)    Mister Midnight
6)    Glad Rag Doll
7)    Let's Walk That-A-Way
8)    Candy Lips
9)    Satisfied
10)    All I Do Is Dream of You
11)    Such a Night
12)    Hernando's Hideaway
13)    Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
14)    Papa Loves Mambo
15)    If You Believe
16)    Alexander's Ragtime Band
17)    As Time Goes By
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Johnny Ray, Doris Day, Frankie Laine.
  • Recorded between 1951 and 1956. Includes liner notes by Jonny Whiteside.
  • Johnnie Ray was an immediately recognizable vocal stylist whose histrionic sobbing and exaggerated "blue" notes won as many detractors as fans. But the sheer outrageousness of his performance style, which exhibited a dynamic physicality not seen again in a white singer until Elvis Presley came along, makes Ray a clear forerunner of rock & roll and an exciting entertainer who always seemed to be on the verge of losing control. Cry is a five-disc box set that compiles Ray's complete Columbia recordings from 1951-1956, including the major hits "Cry," "The Little White Cloud That Cried," and "Just Walking in the Rain." Those familiar with Ray's biography may be surprised at the number of gospel songs in his catalog, which display an outpouring of spiritual fervor as desperate in tenor as the dangerously unfettered sexuality of secular songs like "Such a Night." The fifth disc contains two complete live albums, the remarkable Live at the London Palladium (also available separately from Bear Family Records) and a later Las Vegas show. At the Palladium, Ray's lascivious oohs and ahhs on "Such a Night" drive the female audience members into a frenzy, and then, minutes later, he's singing "I'm Gonna Walk and Talk with My Lord." This tension between the sinful and the sacred is ever-present in Ray's music when heard in its entirety as presented on this box set, which makes for a fascinating listening experience comparable to the tortured oeuvre of Hank Williams. Unlike Williams, though, Ray also displays a strain of childlike innocence, as on "The Little White Cloud That Cried," that only adds to his inscrutably complex persona. The accompanying hardback book contains a lengthy essay by Ray biographer Johnny Whiteside and a generous selection of photos and memorabilia almost as riveting as the music itself. Bear Family subsequently released a second box set, Yes Tonight Josephine, which picks up where Cry leaves off. ~ Greg Adams
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Cry [Recall] [Box] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top