SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Curtis [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

Album: Curtis [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go
2)    Other Side of Town, The
3)    Makings of You, The
4)    We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue
5)    Move on Up
6)    Miss Black America
7)    Wild and Free
8)    Give It Up
9)    Power to the People - (previously unreleased, demo)
10)    Underground - (demo)
11)    Ghetto Child - (previously unreleased, demo)
12)    Readings in Astrology - (demo)
13)    Suffer - (demo)
14)    Miss Black America - (previously unreleased, demo)
15)    Makings of You, The - (previously unreleased, Backing Tracks, Take 32, back tracks)
16)    (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go [Backi - (backing tracks)
17)    (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go [Edite - (single version)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recorded at RCA Studios, Chicago, Illinois. Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Curtis Mayfield (vocals); Don Simmons (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Daniel Hersch.
  • Liner Note Authors: David Nathan ; Michael Wesley Johnson.
  • Recording information: RCA Studios, Chicago, IL.
  • Photographer: Bob Cato.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Elliott Golub; Sol Bobrob; John Ross.
  • Arrangers: Gary Slabo; Riley Hampton.
  • CURTIS is the first solo album by R&B/soul legend Curtis Mayfield. After leaving the Impressions, Mayfield began to write lyrics that were more politically charged. With the 1970 release of CURTIS, he became one of the most important socially conscious artists of his generation. The album's opener, "(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below We're All Going to Go" uses racial epithets openly, as Mayfield asserts the shiftlessness of America. Set to a funky groove, with smart horn arrangements and wah-wah guitar, this song is a brazen attack on social mores, racism, the Vietnam War, religious impropriety, and Nixon-era politics.
  • "We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue" is another track that poignantly examines the race and class struggles of urban America. This song is made up of more than just a static groove; its tempos shift midway through and powerful brass figures, timpani punctuations, and harp glissandos soon dominate the mix. Also featuring the powerful "Move On Up," CURTIS is a classic soul record, and its relevance is amplified by its quest for racial harmony and its bold anti-establishment stance. (Note: The 2000 reissue of CURTIS features nine bonus tracks.)
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (2/3/00, p.53) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Cut for cut, Mayfield's solo debut is stronger than SUPERFLY....Rare items: the achingly empathetic 'Other Side of Town' and 'Miss Black America,' featuring one of his many children."

Q (12/00, p.144) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...It wedded the big issues of the day to peerless songwriting that yielded such enduring classics as 'Move On Up'..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul » Chicago Soul
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Curtis [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top