Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Dark Night of the Soul *

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock

Dark Night of the Soul *

Artist: Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse (Recorded By)

This item is no longer available.

We will email you if this item comes back into stock.

Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Parlophone
Album: Dark Night of the Soul *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Revenge
2)    Just War
3)    Jaykub
4)    Little Girl
5)    Angel's Harp
6)    Pain
7)    Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It)
8)    Everytime I'm with You
9)    Insane Lullaby
10)    Daddy's Gone
11)    Man Who Played God
12)    Grim Augury
13)    Dark Night of the Soul

Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixers: Kennie Takahashi; Danger Mouse; Mark Linkous.
  • Recording information: Dull Roar Studios; Static King Studios.
  • Though Dark Night of the Soul -- a collaboration featuring songs written and produced by Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse's Mark Linkous accompanied by David Lynch's photography -- was supposed to come out in 2009, a legal dispute between Danger Mouse and EMI delayed its release by over a year. By the time Dark Night officially saw the light of day, Linkous and another of the project's players, singer/songwriter Vic Chesnutt, were dead. This could have cast a morbid shadow over the entire enterprise, but at its best, the album is a tribute to the collaborative spirit of everyone involved. After working with Danger Mouse on Sparklehorse's 2006 album Dreamt for Light Years in the Belly of a Mountain, Linkous reunited with the producer to work on a set of songs that he didn't feel comfortable singing himself, so they recruited an A-list crew of singers to provide vocals and lyrics. While all the guest performers give a lot of themselves -- you can hear the genesis of Broken Bells in James Mercer's "Insane Lullaby" and Suzanne Vega's "Man Who Played God" is as breezily bittersweet as one of her own songs -- the melodies are indelibly Linkous'. Even with other people's words on top of them, they're alternately plaintive and whimsical, raging against an engulfing darkness or laughing at it all. Dark Night of the Soul's best moments feature artists most attuned to Linkous' vibe: Wayne Coyne's "Revenge" is an inspired fusion of Linkous' dead-of-night ballads and the Flaming Lips' philosophizing ("Once we become the things we dread/There's no way to stop"). Grandaddy's Jason Lytle is a perfect match for the fragile, spacy Americana of "Jaykub" and "Everytime I'm with You" and Chesnutt -- perhaps Linkous' most kindred spirit here -- heightens Sparklehorse's occasional Southern Gothic bleakness on the nightmarish waltz "Grim Augury." Meanwhile, Lynch's "Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It)" is a beautiful and unexpected highlight, his Midwestern drawl providing a poignant contrast to his abstract lyrics. Linkous takes the lead on only one track here, the deceptively gentle "Daddy's Gone," where he sings "Don't delay/Because people decay." Despite the delay, Dark Night of the Soul shows what a talent and what a generous collaborator we lost in Mark Linkous. ~ Heather Phares

Professional Reviews
Alternative Press (p.146) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "DARK NIGHT's trippy, psychedelic tunes are a true treat for your ears."

Billboard (p.29) - "[I]t's the airtight beats of Danger Mouse and the surreal songwriting of Linkous that make this a fascinating set."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.55) - Ranked #28 in Mojo's "The 50 Best Albums Of 2010" -- "Heartbreaker of the year no question."

Paste (magazine) - "[I]t's a breathtaking set of atmospheric ballads that explore cosmic concerns, from the self-destructive trap of revenge to the possibility of spiritual renewal."

Clash (magazine) - "David Lynch's star shimmers brightest. His delivery of the wonky title track is simultaneously spooky and sensual..."

Uncut (magazine) - "There are some big-name cameos....The guest vocalists aren't just hired hands. Each singer has shaped his or her part..."

Producer:Danger Mouse; Mark Linkous; Sparklehorse
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:1 July, 2010
Guest Artist: The Flaming Lips; Gruff Rhys; Jason Lytle; Julian Casablancas; Black Francis; Iggy Pop; James Mercer; Nina Persson; Suzanne Vega; Vic Chesnutt

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches

This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.