SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Daughter of Time [Remastered & Expanded Edition]

Album: Daughter of Time [Remastered & Expanded Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Three Score and Ten, Amen
2)    Time Lament
3)    Take Me Back to Doomsday
4)    Daughter of Time, The
5)    Theme From an Imaginary Western
6)    Bring Out Your Dead
7)    Downhill and Shadows
8)    Time Machine, The
9)    Bring Out Your Dead
10)    Jumping Off the Sun
11)    Pirate's Dream, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Colosseum: Chris Farlowe (vocals); Jon Hiseman (drums); Dave Greenslade; Dick Heckstall-Smith; Clem Clemson.
  • Includes liner notes by Jon Hiseman.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Dave Greenslade (vocals, piano, organ); Dave "Clem" Clempson (guitar); Trevor Williams , Jack Rothstein (violin); Nicholas Kraemer (viola); Fred Alexander, Charles Tunnell (cello); Barbara Thompson (flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Dick Heckstall-Smith (tenor saxophone); Harold Beckett (trumpet, flugelhorn); Derek Wadsworth (trombone); Jon Hiseman (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Remasterer: Ben Wiseman .
  • Recording information: Lansdowne Studios, London (05/03/1970); Lansdowne Studios, London (08/01/1971).
  • A concept album loosely based on man's fascination and allure for war throughout the ages, Daughter of Time contains all the elements required to create a pure progressive rock album. Joining David Greenslade and Chris Farlowe is Louis Cennamo from Renaissance, who plucks away at the bass guitar with a heavy hand. A multitude of instruments combine to create a brilliant melange of music on every one of the eight songs. Vibrant spurts of trombone, trumpet, and flute are driven to the height of each song, which gives way to some implements of jazz fusion. Rich organ and vibraphone can be heard in behind "Three Score and Ten, Amen" and "Take Me Back to Doomsday" adding to the melancholy theme. Countering this are beautiful string arrangements made up of violin, viola, and cello used effectively to conjure up mood, and doing an excellent job. Even a flgelhorn is blared from time to time on top of the accentuated drums. A spoken word passage from Dick Heckstall-Smith creates an eerie aura, as his voice echoes on about the coming of the apocalypse. Colosseum's music works extremely well in that it builds suspense and reels the listener into the songs. As far as the lyrics go, they're stark and foreboding and have a medieval taste to them, coinciding with the music perfectly. Each song, all around six minutes in length, should have been longer to let the instruments play out with their illustriousness. Except for the fact that it is a short album, Daughter of Time is a sturdy example of progressive rock. ~ Mike DeGagne
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Daughter of Time [Remastered & Expanded Edition] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top