Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Def Jam 30 [LP]

Album: Def Jam 30 [LP]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Body Rock
2)    Rockin it
3)    On the Radio
4)    Funk Box Party
5)    Action
6)    Live at the Fever
1)    Looking for the Perfect Beat
2)    Optimo
3)    Al Naafiyish (The Soul)
4)    Drum Machine
5)    Set it Off
6)    Fresh is the Word
7)    Fly Girl, A
1)    Rock the Bells
2)    911 Is a Joke
3)    Children's Story
4)    Fight the Power
5)    Crossover
6)    Hip Hop Junkies
7)    Slam
8)    Tonight's Da Night
1)    Deeper
2)    Regulate
3)    This is How We Do it
4)    I'll Be There For You/You're All I Need to Get By
5)    Doin' it
6)    Ruff Ryders' Anthem
1)    Touch Me Tease Me
2)    Get Me Home
3)    Foolish
4)    Put it on Me
5)    Make Me Better
6)    Oh Boy
7)    Move Bitch
8)    Get Busy
1)    Guess Who's Back
2)    Hustlin'
3)    Put On
4)    Can't Tell Me Nothing
5)    No Lie
6)    My Last
7)    Niggas in Paris
8)    My Nigga
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Yet another commemorative box set from Def Jam, this one, released in 2014, ironically contains less of the dominant rap and R&B label's music than Def Jam Music Group Inc. 10th Year Anniversary (1995) and Def Jam Recordings 25th Anniversary (2009). Packaged to look like a turntable and stuffed with a T-shirt, it's more a collector's item than a generous collection of enduring tracks. The CD edition consists of three discs. Founder Rick Rubin made the selections for one of the discs, a summary of Def Jam's roots. Many of the cuts have been compiled for series like Rhino's Street Jams and Tommy Boy's Hip Hop Essentials. Included are some scarcer but just as crucial tracks that involved label co-founder Russell Simmons, namely Orange Krush's "Action" (1982), featuring High Fashion's Alyson Williams (who later signed to Def Jam as a solo artist), and "Love Bug" Starski's Orange Krush-backed "Live at the Disco Fever" (1983). Among compulsory cuts like Liquid Liquid's "Optimo" and Fearless Four's "Rockin' It," there's Drum Machine's eponymous track, produced by Jay Burnett (aka Burzootie), released in 1982 and revamped three years later as a Def Jam 12" featuring Beastie Boys' MCA. The other two discs put the spotlight on the label's releases. Purists won't be pleased by the absence of Beastie Boys and T la Rock, especially given the presence of pop-R&B hits from the likes of Ashanti (technically a Murder Inc. artist) and Case, and a Big Sean single assisted by Chris Brown. These discs offer a mix of obvious and peculiar picks, as well as a significant amount of material released after the 25th anniversary anthology, including Jay-Z and Kanye West's "Ni**as in Paris," 2 Chainz' "No Lie," and YG's "My Ni**a." In addition to the disc of Rubin selections, an enticement for serious rap fans is a lengthy essay from Dan Charnas, author of The Big Payback: The History of the Business of Hip-Hop and co-author of Def Jam: The First 25 Years of the Last Great Record Label -- two indispensable books. ~ Andy Kellman
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » R&B » Old Skool
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top