Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Definitive Collection

Album: The Definitive Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Midnight Shift
2)    Rock Around with Ollie Vee
3)    That'll Be the Day
4)    I'm Looking for Someone to Love
5)    Words of Love
6)    Not Fade Away
7)    Everyday
8)    Listen to Me
9)    Oh, Boy!
10)    Peggy Sue
11)    I'm Gonna Love You Too
12)    Look at Me
13)    Maybe Baby
14)    Rave On
15)    Fool's Paradise
16)    Take Your Time
17)    Well...All Right
18)    Think It Over
19)    Early in the Morning
20)    Heartbeat
21)    It's So Easy
22)    Wishing
23)    Love's Made a Fool of You
24)    True Love Ways
25)    It Doesn't Matter Anymore
26)    Raining in My Heart
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Buddy Holly (vocals, guitar); George Barnes, Al Caiola, Sonny Curtis, Tommy Allsup, Al Chernet (guitar); Julius Held, Leo Kruczek, Leonard Posner, Herbert Bourne, Ray Free, Paul Winter Consort, Irving Spice (violin); David Schwartz , Howard Kay (viola); Maurice Bialkin, Maurice Brown (cello); Abraham Richman, Sam "The Man" Taylor (tenor saxophone); Vi Petty (piano, celesta); Ernie Hayes (piano); Norman Petty (organ); Jerry Allison (drums, percussion); Douglas Kirkham, Bob "Crow" Clarke, Clifford Leman, Panama Francis, Phil Kraus (drums); Ray Bush's BBC Jazz, David Bingham, Gary Tollet, Ramona Tollet, June Clark, Bob Linville, John Pickering, Bob Lapham, The Helen Way Singers, William Marine, Robert Bollinger, Abby Hoffer, Merril Ostrus, Robert Harter, Bill Pickering, Niki Sullivan, The Roses (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Billy Altman.
  • Recording information: Clovis, NM (01/26/1956-10/21/1958); Nashville, TN (01/26/1956-10/21/1958); New York, NY (01/26/1956-10/21/1958); Tinker Air Force Bass, Oklahoma City, OK (01/26/1956-10/21/1958).
  • Notable for its unusual cover, which features a rare photo of Buddy Holly without his signature spectacles, THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION presents an excellent selection of the rock & roll legend's finest moments, recorded in the brief period between early 1956 and late '58, just months before his death in February of '59. Although Holly's hits--including the vibrant tunes "That'll Be the Day," "Not Fade Away," and "Rave On"--are present, they are chronologically interspersed among lesser-known tracks such as the rockabilly-tinged "Midnight Shift" and the organ-laden "Take Your Time," tracing the entire trajectory of Holly's tragically short career. While not as thorough as the two-disc GOLD set, this 2006 release offers eight more songs than the concise GREATEST HITS, making it the ideal intermediate compilation.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Definitive Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top